Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is the best lemon poppy seed muffins I have had. The texture was wonderful and the taste was not too sweet. I baked for 15 minutes at 400, anymore time and they would have overdone. The only thing I changed was I used butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
For super lemony muffins, may I suggest adding a couple teaspoonfuls of pure lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I just made these, they taste good - but I would now make the following adjustments. I followed reviewers advice. First of all, 12 oz of lemon yogurt IS enough! Also, I would use 1/3c. veg. oil and poppy seed instead of 1/4 (that's too much) - **also - take it literally when they say LIGHTLY GREASE THE PANS - ESPECIALLY if you have non-stick pans (they still need a bit) - In addition, I tried it both ways - with the high heat and 20 min will nearly burn them, 15-17 min at 350° is best - keep an eye on them! Will probably make them again - but this time with these adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I'm sure that this would be a very tasty recipe as written but I couldn't resist a couple of changes. I added 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract(just felt right) and garnished the tops with sliced almonds. Warning: If you are using a dark, non-stick pan, cut the cooking time! I burned my first batch-but I still ate them-thats how good they taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butter-Bug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnaudville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
followed the recommendation to reduce the poppy seeds and added a bit of vanilla extract. They turned out beautiful and tasted great (used zest and juice from a meyer lemon from our backyard) - I had a dozen regular size muffins to bring to a teacher's brunch plus a handful of minis for our family. Will definitely be making these again, as my family was disappointed to get only one mini each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
muffins are so moist! i had plain yogurt so I added a table spoon of lemon flavoring. also as i was folding the batter it was still a bit dry...so i added a table spoon of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Love these muffins! When I plan on traveling with these muffins, or storing them in a ziploc bag, I don't do the glaze part. They are still really yummy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDECAHOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were good. I used 12oz. of yogurt, but plan to make them again with 8oz. of lemon yogurt. I used butter in place of the oil. Overall, they were moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I used plain yogurt and just added a little bit more lemon zest and it worked fine. I would probably add even more next time (2 tbsp +). The lemon/sugar finishing touch made it just right for lemon flavour. I only used 1/8 cup of poppy seeds as was recommended by someone else and it was a perfect amount. I also only baked them for 12 minutes at 400 deg. I can see how they could turn out dry if you bake them longer than that but 12 minutes was more than enough time. Overall, it's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These are great and I use a simple sugar glaze on top. Very good and I use agave and applesauce in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States