Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I used this recipe to make mini muffins for a baby shower. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I thought these were great! Mine came out a bit flat, but still moist and yummy. It didn't take 20 minutes to bake. The edges were getting too brown. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I loved these! The edges that got a little too brown, were heavenly! Very moist and just delicious overall. We didn't do the glaze b/c my son doesn't like it, and they were still perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
definitely delicious. i took the advice of others and used a little more than 1/8 C. poppy seeds (and that was a perfect amount), used 1/3 c. oil...and i used the most delicious yogurt stonybrook farms organic "lucious lemon" fruit's on the bottom-12oz) and it was amazing. cooked for 15min each in my oven (a little bit longer than others did i guess). super moist and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I love LOVE poppy seed muffins! These were great with the modifications suggested. I used 12 oz yogurt (1 lime 1 lemon), 1/8 c poppy seeds, 1/3 c oil. Now, here's where I messed up! Haha, I put the lemon juice in with the yogurt and everything, so I used 1 T lemon extract 1/3 c water and 3 T sugar for the mixture to pour over the tops:) They tasted great! Mine didn't puff up, but maybe it had to do with the altitude? or the fact that I used 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1/2 almond meal instead of white flour:) Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is the best lemon poppy seed muffins I have had. The texture was wonderful and the taste was not too sweet. I baked for 15 minutes at 400, anymore time and they would have overdone. The only thing I changed was I used butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
For super lemony muffins, may I suggest adding a couple teaspoonfuls of pure lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I just made these, they taste good - but I would now make the following adjustments. I followed reviewers advice. First of all, 12 oz of lemon yogurt IS enough! Also, I would use 1/3c. veg. oil and poppy seed instead of 1/4 (that's too much) - **also - take it literally when they say LIGHTLY GREASE THE PANS - ESPECIALLY if you have non-stick pans (they still need a bit) - In addition, I tried it both ways - with the high heat and 20 min will nearly burn them, 15-17 min at 350° is best - keep an eye on them! Will probably make them again - but this time with these adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I'm sure that this would be a very tasty recipe as written but I couldn't resist a couple of changes. I added 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract(just felt right) and garnished the tops with sliced almonds. Warning: If you are using a dark, non-stick pan, cut the cooking time! I burned my first batch-but I still ate them-thats how good they taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butter-Bug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnaudville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
followed the recommendation to reduce the poppy seeds and added a bit of vanilla extract. They turned out beautiful and tasted great (used zest and juice from a meyer lemon from our backyard) - I had a dozen regular size muffins to bring to a teacher's brunch plus a handful of minis for our family. Will definitely be making these again, as my family was disappointed to get only one mini each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States