Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Perfect muffin recipe. Definitely watch these as they bake, and swap shelves in your oven half-way through baking. You don't want the tops to get too crusty, or golden. I heated the sugar and lemon juice, to make a syrup. Absolutely delicious, moist, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are great! Like everyone, I only used 1/8 cup poppy seeds. Also, I used 12 oz of the yogurt. To keep them moist, I baked at 375 degrees for 15 mins. After the changes, they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Some reviews mention that the muffins come out a bit dry. So I took the advice of Trish, who reviewed below, and the muffins came out great! Moist and delicious! Thanks Trish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I was hoping this muffin would be as moist as it claimed; unfortunately I found it very dry despite making per instructed. The sugar glaze amped up the lemon flavor, but it really didn't add to the moistness, so I re-glazed using powdered sugar and more lemon juice and that seemed to help. On the plus side, this muffin does have plenty of lemon flavor and a generous amount of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought the muffins were missing a little something. The lemon juice and sugar mixture over the tops of the muffins definitely gave them a kick but without that gloss I felt like it was lacking in lemon flavor. You could only really taste the flour and sugar and not much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I would have given this recipe 5 stars after the changes I made, but I have to give 4 because it was a bit too dry for me made as-is. The followed some advice by others the second time around and definitely more moisture is needed. So I used 2 lemon burst yogurt cups, 6 oz. each, which 1 and 1/2 cups total. I also used 1/3 cup of oil rather than only 1/4 cup. I did not measure out my poppy seeds. I just used a small little plastic jar of Tone's poppy seeds, which was somewhere between 1/8 and 1/4 cup. (I can see where 1/4 cup might have been pushing it, the amount I used was plenty!) I kept everything else the same and baked in giant muffins tins which made 6 muffins total for me. I dropped the temperature to 375 so the outside wouldn't cook too fast, leaving the middle raw. They came out perfectly, and the the rose nicely giving a decently-rounded top. The lemon/sugar mixture was perfect to pour over the top. This really gives the muffins their flavor. Oh, and I followed the advice a few other cooks and added a tablespoon of lemon extract along with the lemon zest to the batter. This is a great place to start with a lemon poppy seed muffin, just needs more liquids and it's perfect! Thanks for sharing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I'm glad to find a poppy seed muffin recipe that isn't filled with oil! I haven't quite gotten it as soft as I'd like it, but it is still cakey without being crumbly or too heavy. They are best right out of the oven! A batch of these does not last long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made these muffins for a brunch. The final touch of the lemon sugar on the top gave them a nice shiny glaze. They were quite lemony. I made mini muffins, so perhaps I added too much lemon sugar glaze to each muffin, but I love the taste of tart lemon. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Made these for a mommies that came for a playdate with their kids...moms and kids loved these muffins! I only did 1/8 cup of poppy seeds, added 1tbsp lemon extract, put the lemon zest in the mix and didn't bother with the sugar and lemon juice glaze. They all want the recipe and asked for me to make more at our next playgroup date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommasacook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe! So moist and soft. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States