Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I loved these muffins! I did make a couple of small changes. I used plain yogurt instead of lemon flavored. I also added just a bit more oil than it asked for. I know that some people on here only put in 1/8 cup of poppy seeds but I put in the whole 1/4 cup and thought that it was good. I will definitely make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rossland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These muffins were a bit dry, even though I added some milk and baked them for only 15 minutes. I might try this again but add more milk or oil. I took other reviewers' suggestion to add 1/8 c poppy seeds, and that was indeed plenty! I also used plain yogurt instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made these a couple days ago and have been having them for breakfast. They have stayed very moist and delicious! I made several changes to the wet ingredients, though, which I think helped. I used: 2 eggs, 1 6oz container plain Greek yogurt (standard single-serving size), 1/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1 cup of plain applesauce. The addition of the applesauce makes a huge difference to the moistness, and you can't taste it at all. I also used the zest from 2 lemons, which was probably closer to 1.5 or 2 Tbsp, because I wanted to make sure they were really lemony, and they are - not really tart, just very flavorful. I also used half white and half whole wheat flour (1 cup each), which I always do when making muffins so I can pretend to myself they are somewhat healthier. They turned out really well with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great Muffins! I used two cups of lemon yogurt (12oz total), and reduced the poppy seeds to about 1/8 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made this twice. Both times it came out dry and devoid of lemon flavor. The first time I made as directed, the second time I increased the oil to 1/3 a cup and added 1 tbl. lemon extract and it still came out not good. I also tried making the glaze twice, once using splenda and the second time with actual sugar. It was too watery and not at all like a glaze. I would probably experiment with powdered sugar next time but I'm not going to waste more materials on these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I love these muffins. I followed the recipe but I used plain yogurt with some lemon extract and they turned out great. My husband said they taste just like the ones from the bakery. I did cut back on the glaze, 1/2 cup icing sugar and enough lemon juice to make it spreadable & put on thinly while warm...yum. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
WOW really good. The recipes made 12 regular size muffins and 11 mini one. My boyfriend can't stop eating them. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Good muffins. The dough was a little drier than most muffin doughs. If I was to make these again, I would reduce the flour to 1 1/2 cups. I used powdered sugar in the glaze and waited until the muffins were cooled to drizzle it on. Overall, the lemon/poppy seed combination had a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
this was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
the muffins were awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McArthur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cook, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States