Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This recipe was very tasteless. Moist, though. The only saving thing was the glaze that you drip onto muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I'm pretty sure the problem here is whether you're using 1 measured cup of yogurt or 1 store-bought cup of yogurt, which measures out to more like 3/4 cup and that will give you moisture problems. I just used 1 cup of milk plus a teaspoon of lemon juice to curdle (muffins need the acid plus baking soda/powder to rise) and I also added lemon oil to boost the flavor and because I had it around. cut back on the poppy seeds and you've got a very tasty muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I used plain yogurt and it seemed to work ok. I did not think that the muffins were dry. Next time I will use less of the topping because it actually seemed to make the muffins a little too wet for my taste. I think a lemon frosting would be better than the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Wonderfully moist muffins. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissTaken1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Might try these again. Think the only reason they got eaten was they were the only thing around. Was really surprise how bland and too seedy they were. Followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These were good. I used plain Greek yogurt, and added extra lemon juice to the batter because it was a bit dry. Despite all the lemon, I still found it lacking in lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I agree with most other reviewers that these muffins do not have enough lemon flavor as the recipe is currently written. The next time I make them, I will add at least a Tablespoon of fresh lemon to the batter and possibly use both the zest and juice of two lemons. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar in mine as I'm trying to reduce my use of sugar in general. I do love the way they baked. Mine popped right up in the muffin pan and were lightly browned after about 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Hard to find mixes in stores now replaced by these tasty morsels...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These were kind of dry but I think it's just because I overcooked them. I accidentally put the 1/3 cup lemon juice in the muffins before I baked them so I added another 1/3 cup with the sugar again as the topping. It was delicious and I would recommend doing that. I also topped with Raw sugar before I baked to get that extra crunch. I think I can make them 5 star next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I tried this recipe after another one didn't turn out so well. I followed some of the suggestions posted (only 1/8 cup poppyseed - about 2 tbsps, 1/3 cup oil, 1 1/2 cups plain yogurt) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States