Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
this recipe is very good. i did make a few changes as suggested by others. i used 16oz of yogurt (the whipped kind so it ended up being fluffier). i aslo added a 1 tbs of limoncello to give the batter more flavor. when the muffins came out of the oven i poked lots of little holes in them before added the glaze so that it seeped throughout the muffin giving it a better lemon flavor as well. i will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
All in all, a decent muffin. They definitely need the lemon juice/sugar poured over them.... I cannot stress this enough. It turned a bland, dry muffin into one worth eating. I took the advice of others and only used 2Tbsp of poppy seeds. It was plenty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe was just okay to me. The glaze was good, but it seemed to only be there to cover the bland flavor of the actual muffin. It didn't seem lemony enough, but this could be my fault, as I used a bit under a tablespoon of zest and "lemon merguine" yogurt rather than plain lemon. I'll probably make again, perhaps adding a bit of lemon juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I loved this muffins! I did follow the advice of others though and used 16 oz of lemon yogurt, 2 heaping tablespoons of poppy seeds, 1 tablespoon of lemon extract, and 2 grated lemon peels. I also made mini muffins baked at 350 for 11 minutes. Once the muffins were cool, I juiced the lemons and added 1 1/3 cup powdered sugar to make a yummy glaze! I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
The only thing I changed was the amount of poppy seeds. I reduced them to 2 tbsp. Delicious warm. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These are good muffins. Not lemon-y enough for us. However, I should say that I did *not* make the lemon glaze. We don't "do glaze" on muffins:~) That just makes them too sweet. At any rate, I changed a couple of things. I actually used the 1/3 cup of fresh lemon juice IN the muffin batter (vs. in the glaze). I made mini muffins with this recipe (24) and ended up with batter left; enough to make four full sized muffins! The batter was very thick and a bit difficult to work with. Definately not pourable. Pretty much near the consistency of cookie dough. I will cut down the amount of poppy seeds next time. 1/3 cup is way too much (and I love poppy seeds!). Most recipes call for 2 tablespoons. I think I will start out with that next time and just eye-ball it to see if I need to add more. The muffins are moist enough...but really good with a bit of butter! I will make these again and perhaps add more fresh lemon juice. I really thought the lemon yogurt would give them a kick, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Delicious! I am eating the first one right now, hot out of the oven and it is PERFECT! I love lemon poppy seed muffins and this is the recipe I will stick with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
These came out great! Followed directions exactly and used a silicon pan. Texture is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pancake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
These were a bit hit! I did alter the recipe a bit, added extra lemon extract and used about a cup of whole milk yogurt so they would be more moist. They were good muffins, will definitely make them again. They tasted delicious even the next day with some butter on top. I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States