Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Quite different .. Wouldnt make any changes . Kindly recomend to everybody .;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I bake quite a bit and was excited to try this recipe but it was horrible. Very dry, even though I read other comments and added a bit more yogurt and oil than the recipe calls for. Only 1 tbs lemon zest?? I used the zest of 1/2 lemon plus 1/4 cup lemon juice, and there was absolutely no lemon flavor. My mom looked up a recipe on food.com and that called for the zest of 2 lemons! No wonder this recipe is so bland. Horrible recipe. Wasted my time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Muffins are great. Just the right mix of lemon, poppy and yes, yogurt. These were wonderful tasting and probably healthier than most muffin recipes. I will definitely bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Good flavor, but cooking these at 400 for 20 minutes is way too much. Some have complained about there being too many poppy seeds with a 1/4 cup. I think it provides a good amount if you enjoy it. Lemon yogurt can be hard to find now. So I'll have to work with plain or something like lemon pie flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I used half the amount of poppy seeds (still plenty), and used plain greek yogurt instead of lemon yogurt. I increased the amount of shredded lemon peel to compensate and they turned out delicious. I didn't even bother with the glazing, they were nice and moist on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I thought these were okay but I am never really impressed with any muffin even though I do make them on a regular basis. I haven't decided if I like poppy seeds in my muffins. I used 1/8 c. of poppy seeds instead of 1/4 c. I used 1 tablespoon of baking powder instead of 2 teaspoons but I think 2 t. would have been fine. I used 1/2 c. sugar instead of 3/4 c. because I do not like super sweet muffins. I used 3/4 c. milk with 1 T. of apple cider vinegar to curdle it instead of the yogurt (because I did not have any yogurt or sour cream on hand.) I used the zest of 1 lemon plus the juice of 1 lemon (which measured 3 T.) I also added a handful of blueberries because I needed to use them up. I did not bother with the glaze on top just because I am too lazy to be bothered with such things. If I decide to make these again (which I may because I still have poppy seeds that I want to get rid of) I will definitely use more lemon juice and lemon zest and maybe even some lemon oil. I'm pretty sure I will still be too lazy to bother with the glaze even though that would make them yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This recipe was very tasteless. Moist, though. The only saving thing was the glaze that you drip onto muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I'm pretty sure the problem here is whether you're using 1 measured cup of yogurt or 1 store-bought cup of yogurt, which measures out to more like 3/4 cup and that will give you moisture problems. I just used 1 cup of milk plus a teaspoon of lemon juice to curdle (muffins need the acid plus baking soda/powder to rise) and I also added lemon oil to boost the flavor and because I had it around. cut back on the poppy seeds and you've got a very tasty muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I used plain yogurt and it seemed to work ok. I did not think that the muffins were dry. Next time I will use less of the topping because it actually seemed to make the muffins a little too wet for my taste. I think a lemon frosting would be better than the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States