Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The cake was extremely dense and the yogurt made it smell vile, like yeast. The lemon was not strong at all, and it was not moist. There were way too many poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Pretty good. Nice and light cake but not enough lemon for me. Will make again but increase lemon and decrease the sugar as well and probably heed the advice of others and halve the butter and double the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
make this twice a month. my favorite. I just cutvthe recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Delicious! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup non fat yogurt. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made it exactly as written and found it to have too many poppy seeds. It tasted more like poppy seed cake with a hint of lemon other than the other way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I doubled this recipe while following the advice from other reviews- cutting back the butter by 1/4 cup and adding a 1/4 yogurt. We used vanilla yogurt and since its already so sweet in itself.. also left out a cup of sugar. We also didn't use all the poppy seeds recommended.. in a doubled recipe where I should have used 1 cup I only used 3/4 and I still feel like that might be a bit much. I baked them for 14 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Really yummy, swapped a bit of butter out for more yogurt (as per recommended). It was a bit on the dry side, but still good. I poured a lemon juice + powdered sugar glaze over the top after the bake for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I baked this loaf because I needed to use my egg yolks that were left over from an egg white recipe. I halved the recipe and put 2 egg yolks instead of 1.5 eggs. The loaf didn't rise as much as shown in some of the pictures but it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this for a Friday afternoon meet &greet. Everyone loved it. Did take the recommendations of previous bakers to reduce butter and increase yogourt. It was a hit especially my husband who loves lemon poppy seed muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Followed others advice and upped the yogurt to one cup and decreased butter to one stick. I wanted a smidge more lemon flavor, so added 1 tsp of lemon extract. It never hangs around more than 2 days! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States