Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I was looking for a muffin recipe of this sort and to my surprise.. there are not many on here.. and the ones on here have minimal reviews which I am weary of trying. I doubled this recipe while following the advice from other reviews- cutting back the butter by 1/4 cup and adding a 1/4 yogurt. We used vanilla yogurt and since its already so sweet in itself.. also left out a cup of sugar. We also didn't use all the poppy seeds recommended.. in a doubled recipe where I should have used 1 cup I only used 3/4 and I still feel like that might be a bit much. I baked them for 14 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Really yummy, swapped a bit of butter out for more yogurt (as per recommended). It was a bit on the dry side, but still good. I poured a lemon juice + powdered sugar glaze over the top after the bake for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I baked this loaf because I needed to use my egg yolks that were left over from an egg white recipe. I halved the recipe and put 2 egg yolks instead of 1.5 eggs. The loaf didn't rise as much as shown in some of the pictures but it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this for a Friday afternoon meet &greet. Everyone loved it. Did take the recommendations of previous bakers to reduce butter and increase yogourt. It was a hit especially my husband who loves lemon poppy seed muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Followed others advice and upped the yogurt to one cup and decreased butter to one stick. I wanted a smidge more lemon flavor, so added 1 tsp of lemon extract. It never hangs around more than 2 days! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We made this today and it was delicious. Followed the recommendations of other reviewers regarding the butter (1/2 c) and yogurt (1 c), and also cut the poppy seed down to 1/4 c based on other recipies I'd seen. Topped with a lemon juice + powdered sugar glaze, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Pretty good and lemony! I made them into mini muffins and baked for about 15-20 min. You have to check them constantly though so they don't get dried out. Got many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
It was good, however, I think the recipe calls for too many poppy seeds. I think 1/2 cup should be cut down to 1/3 or 1/4 cup. Other than that, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
5 stars for this lovely loaf. Tasty, moist and just lemony enough for my tastes. I did change the poppy seeds to only a couple of tsp because my kids aren't too fond of them and I used lemon yogurt on the second batch as I ran out of plain. Still, excellent either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Nice flavour and good when fresh out of the oven, but left for even a few hours and it was really heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States