Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I tried out this recipe this morning- it took a while to prepare and put together, but 10 minutes after it was put in the oven the apartment smelled like lemon-cream. It was delicious! Unlike many people that reviewed this recipe- I followed it to a T. I figure its better to try it, and then make adjustments that I see fit. I DID notice that it took longer than the 50 minutes in the oven, the middle was still liquid-y when I checked it at 45min. I left it in for a bit over an hour, then was scared that the edges would be a little burnt. We've enjoyed a slice already since then- it was beautiful. Im just hoping it doesnt dry out too quickly- if it does, dont worry- I'll let you know!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allpurpose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I halved the recipe to make one 9.x5" tin (tins what we call them in the UK) - I found the cake a little small actually - but that aside it was a lovely recipe - will def make again. Followed ingredient quantities to a T. A tad sweet for me, but others said it wasn't too sweet. I think the yoghurt is key for the moistness. I might try it with 50g less sugar next time....all that said. Very nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
It was beautiful to look at, but for some reason mine had almost no lemon flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaBakes4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My husband and family really enjoyed this!! Even without the poppyseads. (where can I buy them???) I made this in mini-loaves (8) and baked them for 1/2 an hour. Will be making again as soon as strawberries are in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very moist and was a huge hit at church coffee hour. I added and extra 1 tsp. of lemon extract, but it still wasn't lemony enough for my taste buds. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
It was a little dry. i changed things up used shaved chocolate instead of poppyseed, and added some Vanilla. Next time i will add 1/2c more yogourt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
made a bit more than i expected. very yummy, though. i added slivered almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
i made 12 large muffins and they turned out BEAUTIFULLY. i substituted half of the butter for applesauce to make it healthier. I also used lemon AND lime juice since i didnt have enough lemons. these muffins freeze really well...i would definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Very delicious. Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Excellent. I follwed the recipe exactly except that I added a little lemon extract just to make sure it was lemony enough. Tasty and moist. One loaf stayed home and disappeared, one came to the office and disappeared just as quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States