Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Nice texture, little dry, not enough lemon flavour. I think i'll try adding lemon instant pudding next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
As per other reviews, I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and increased yogurt to 1 cup. I also didn't use 1/2 cup poppy seeds as I felt it would be too much. Very good and moist, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Delicious! I used Whole Wheat instead of all-purpose flour. I also only used 1/2 (1 stick) of butter, and 1 whole cup of Vanilla yogurt. I added more lemon zest than the recipe calls for, and only a 1/4 cup of poppyseed. The bread turned out pretty moist, but I think next time I will use even less poppyseed. We didn't have any confectioners sugar to make an icing, so I used evaporated cane juice crystals (you could also just use white sugar) and flour as a substitution. First, make a flour and sugar mixture. Place 3/4 cup into a seperate bowl with 3 T lemon juice and 1 T water. Stir well. Add more flour/sugar mixture until texture has reached desired point. =) Serve over bundt cake. HINT: Tastes even better when served still warm from the oven! =) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
could be a little more lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was quite lemony and tasty, but I think it would have been too dry if I had not taken another reviewers advice and added a lemon glaze to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Brilliant! I used lemon yogurt to punch it up a bit and topped it with a lemon drizzle. Also I made muffins not cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Made into mini loaves. When one of them came out of the oven, I poked holes in it and poured over some Limoncello. As is, the loaves did not have enough lemon punch for me. Good, but not what I wanted. Better when soaked with the Limoncello. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I decreased the butter and increased the yogurt (used fat free, which wasn't a problem). I also used a lemon glaze. I omitted the poppy seeds out of personal preference. It was moist and flavorful, but just not lemony enough for me. Maybe I need to use more lemon juice and zest next time. If there was just some way to get the glaze IN and THROUGHOUT the bread. The kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
My first lemon poppy seed loaf turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
MMMMmmmmmmm so good. I just finished making these and I made them as muffins and baked for 20 min. they were done perfect. The only changes I made were to reduce the poppyseeds to 1/4 cup as per other reviews and that was plenty also added 1 tsp. lemon extract. Also I made the vanilla glaze recipe and topped it with that. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States