Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We made this today and it was delicious. Followed the recommendations of other reviewers regarding the butter (1/2 c) and yogurt (1 c), and also cut the poppy seed down to 1/4 c based on other recipies I'd seen. Topped with a lemon juice + powdered sugar glaze, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Pretty good and lemony! I made them into mini muffins and baked for about 15-20 min. You have to check them constantly though so they don't get dried out. Got many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
It was good, however, I think the recipe calls for too many poppy seeds. I think 1/2 cup should be cut down to 1/3 or 1/4 cup. Other than that, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
5 stars for this lovely loaf. Tasty, moist and just lemony enough for my tastes. I did change the poppy seeds to only a couple of tsp because my kids aren't too fond of them and I used lemon yogurt on the second batch as I ran out of plain. Still, excellent either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Nice flavour and good when fresh out of the oven, but left for even a few hours and it was really heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Unlike most of the other reviewers, I followed this recipe exactly. It took slightly more than 50 minutes to bake, closer to one hour. The texture was very moist, very lovely, however there were way too many poppy seeds! Very little lemon flavour, next time I will double the zest and see if that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I totally health-washed this recipe and it still came out fantastically light & fluffy (as muffins). Used 3 c. WW flour + oat bran, cut salt to 1/2 t., cut sugar to 1/4 c. agave syrup+3/4 c. white sugar, cut butter to 2 T.+3/4 c. applesauce, left out lemon zest, subbed chia seeds for poppy seeds. So yeah very diff recipe but the base worked beautifully. Muffins were light 'n fluffy and very moist. 350 deg for 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Very good. I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce, 6 egg whites, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose flour, greek yogurt, fresh lemons and 1/4 cup poppy seeds (1/2 would have been too much, I think). Next time I will add a little more applesauce to make it more moist but it was delicious regardless. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Peterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very tasty but a bit too sweet for my taste. Next time I do this recipe, I will cut the sugar to 1 cup only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Just made this recipe. I, too used 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup yogurt. I used all the poppy seed called for and did not find it overwhelming. I did find 50 minutes way too long to bake at my elevation. I only baked 40 minutes and it was just a bit dry but very tasty. I will definintely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States