Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
GREAT cake. It's easy to make but tastes like it came from a 5-star bakery. I'd cut down on the poppy seeds though. 1/3 cup works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This cake is fantastic! I went searching for it to make for mother's day (lemon poppyseed is a favorite of hers). I normally dislike lemon anything and even I loved this cake. It was hit with the whole family. My mother liked it so much she made it the next week for her card party and has requested it for her upcoming birthday. It is moist, light and lemony. As a previous reviewer wrote - don't be alarmed when it shrinks. It will shrink significantly, but don't worry, you will need the room for the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYB5149

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I made this twice in the past few weeks. Everyone loved it! Once, I put half in the freezer and it came out again just fine. Don't be alarmed if the cake shrinks dramatically when you take it out of the oven - leaves plenty of room for the toppings. I used pie filling from a mix rather than the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I thought this was a wonderful cake. It was light and moist. I only wish the cake itself had a bit more lemon flavor. This will be very nice on a hot summer day. Please note it takes about 5 hours to prepare not 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I loved this cake and so did every one in my office. I followed the other's advice and used only 1/3 c. poppy seeds, which was plenty. I also used fat free vanilla pudding and light cool whip and it turned out great. They want me to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This cake was a HUGE hit with my family....I made it last year for Easter and they have demanded I make it again. I made this into a layer cake putting the lemon pie filling in between the two round cakes then cool whip mix on top. I garnished the top with lemon wedges and blackberries....was so pretty and springy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Made this dessert for Easter and it went over well with everyone. Had a bit of a strange experience with the cake--it originally raised up so far that I didn't think I would have room to put any of the toppings on it. However, after taking it out of the oven, the cake fell--I was afraid the whole things would be ruined. But as it turned out, I had plenty of room for the toppings, and it was a great success! I think it could have used more than 1 can of the lemon pie filling--maybe a can and a half to two cans....otherwise it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I must be missing something!! I thought it was odd that the recipe calls for 3.4oz package of pudding when the grocery store sells 1oz or 1.5 oz. But I went with it anyway and bought 3 small boxes of vanilla and 3 small boxes of lemon. I mixed the cake mix and thought it was a bit thick. oh well. But then making the 'mousse' I figured something is NOT right. 3 boxes of pudding with 1 cup of milk of coarse makes paste. 'Fold' in whipped topping?? Not happening! Just made a less thicker paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Possibly my favorite desert of all times. We usually make it with one of those pans that leave a dome on the inside for filling the inside of the cake after baking (they are on TV all the time) or with a bundt pan using the middle for the pie filling. Absolutely awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I admit that I am a total snob about cake mixes however I had very little time to put together a dessert for a pot-luck dinner so ran to the store for the ingredients for this cake. It's good! I messed up and used the amount of eggs/water on the cake box (3 eggs, three quarters cup of water) which differed from the recipe but the cake was still fine. I'm not crazy about the taste of instant lemon pudding so I added a bit of fresh grated lemon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States