Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I thought this cake was pretty good, but not amazing. Most of my family really enjoyed it, though, so I may make it again. If I go all out and make a cake, though, I want an amazing recipe! All in all, no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I loved this cake and so did every one in my office. I followed the other's advice and used only 1/3 c. poppy seeds, which was plenty. I also used fat free vanilla pudding and light cool whip and it turned out great. They want me to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
A nice, light finish for a heavier meal. I made this at Christmas and everyone loved it. It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Ann Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this without the poppy seads and I just thought it was OK. I would have liked it the cake was more lemony and less dense. I also didn't like the fact that it had to be refrigerated for 4 hours. I think it would have been fine if the cake was served after cooling but still at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Made this dessert for Easter and it went over well with everyone. Had a bit of a strange experience with the cake--it originally raised up so far that I didn't think I would have room to put any of the toppings on it. However, after taking it out of the oven, the cake fell--I was afraid the whole things would be ruined. But as it turned out, I had plenty of room for the toppings, and it was a great success! I think it could have used more than 1 can of the lemon pie filling--maybe a can and a half to two cans....otherwise it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this cake for a party this weekend and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was using cherry pie filling because the grocery store did not have lemon pie filling. It turned out great and added a great flavor to it. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Possibly my favorite desert of all times. We usually make it with one of those pans that leave a dome on the inside for filling the inside of the cake after baking (they are on TV all the time) or with a bundt pan using the middle for the pie filling. Absolutely awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Made this for a friends birthday and it was great. Everyone liked ita nd wanted more.. And it was easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Good cake - I skipped the poppy seeds, and thought that the filling had a bit of a wang, but overall a very refreshing and light dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Schleicher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States