Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was a great, light tasting alternative for a holiday meal. I followed a few reviewer suggestions and substituted some apple sauce for 1/2 cup of the oil. It was a delicious cake, and I was already asked for the recipe. Thanks, and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I am glad that I didn't look at the nutrition facts until AFTER I ate it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Took this to the hospital where I work and it went in a flash. Light, not too sweet...it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Love this recipe. I made cupcakes with it and pipe in the filling and frost them with the coolwhip/pudding icing and they are always a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookiesNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
thank you bea for this recipe! it made my boyfriend love me even more than he already did...i used this recipe to make a birthday bundt cake, and added a lemon-sugar glaze (poked holes first), then the amazing frosting. i used organic whipping cream instead of cool whip. this was the BEST cake i have EVER had. period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Yum, that about sums it up. What a great recipe, everyone at my work loved it and it was really moist. My son requested it for his birthday along with strawberry ice cream....did I say Yum?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I used Yellow Cake Mix and Lemon Instant Pudding, it was all I had. I only used 1/4 cup Poppyseeds, which was more than enough. I used 1 tsp almond extract. I made mine in 2 round pans. After cooling, I spread a layer of lemon filling in between and dusted the top with powdered sugar. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I thought this cake was pretty good, but not amazing. Most of my family really enjoyed it, though, so I may make it again. If I go all out and make a cake, though, I want an amazing recipe! All in all, no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I loved this cake and so did every one in my office. I followed the other's advice and used only 1/3 c. poppy seeds, which was plenty. I also used fat free vanilla pudding and light cool whip and it turned out great. They want me to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
A nice, light finish for a heavier meal. I made this at Christmas and everyone loved it. It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States