Lemon Poppy Seed Dessert Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made this for a co-worker friend's birthday. She likes lemon desserts, and they have to have a lot of lemon flavor, but not the in-your-face kind. She also had associated lemon poppy seed cakes or loaves with dryness, and she wanted a moist cake. This dessert knocked the socks off of everybody at work, and the birthday girl loved it! I made 2 cakes, so I could taste it to make sure it would be a hit, and even bought a package of Costco lemon bites, which she loves, as a backup dessert, in case the cakes didn't turn out. I only had a tall bottle of poppy seeds, so I used half in each cake, which came out to less than 1/4 c. per cake and it was perfect. I would make this cake again anytime. My friend thought it was good enough to be served at a wedding reception. My family of chocoholics loved it, too! I cooked it for 35 minutes and the toothpick came out clean. When I cut it, however, the cake looked undercooked. However, it tasted fine and I think that added to its moistness. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
this recipe was a HUGE hit!! so moist and delicious. even my grandmother loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmaLee Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
it's delicious. I found the pudding in the 3.4 ounce size. Everyone requests this cake at every function. birthdays, etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnasue
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I couldn't find canned lemon pie filling so I used a box. I took this to a potluck. Several people said they would give it a 4, but I just don't think it rates 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I liked this cake alot. I served it to 12 gals for Bunco. Half loved it, but me and the other gals thought the lemon filling was too much. I agree> The cool whip frosting was so delicious and the cake so moist I think it took away from the taste. I will make again, probably leave off filling, or maybe cut cake in half and lightly layer the filling there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I've made this cake 3 times--once as written, once making the cake with 1/3 c oil, 1 cup water and 2 TBS. poppy seeds (I always use Duncan Hines cake mixes), replaced canned lemon pie filling with 1 large (cook kind) lemon pudding mix and the same frosting and once with a Yellow Cake mix, instant lemon pudding, 1/3 c oil, 1 cup water and 2 TBS. poppy seeds, replaced canned lemon pie filling with 1 large (cook kind) lemon pudding mix and the same frosting. They're all great (and easy). I'll continue to use less oil, water and poppy seeds and replace the the canned pie filling with 1 large Jello Brand Lemon (cook kind) Pudding Mix and use the same frosting mix. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
SUPER-moist cake, topping OK - everybody LOVED IT!!! I will definitely be making this again, but perhaps without the whipped topping/lemon mousse on top. Could I use real whipped cream instead? Maybe that would taste better than the CoolWhip (regular) that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Wonderful Summer cake. Made exactly as recipe stated. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I must be missing something!! I thought it was odd that the recipe calls for 3.4oz package of pudding when the grocery store sells 1oz or 1.5 oz. But I went with it anyway and bought 3 small boxes of vanilla and 3 small boxes of lemon. I mixed the cake mix and thought it was a bit thick. oh well. But then making the 'mousse' I figured something is NOT right. 3 boxes of pudding with 1 cup of milk of coarse makes paste. 'Fold' in whipped topping?? Not happening! Just made a less thicker paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this recently for my grandmother's birthday. The cake was AMAZING and got rave reviews from everyone. Someone even thought I had bought it at the go-to bakery in town... it was just that good! I did cut the poppyseed down to 1/3 c., but otherwise made as directed. I'll definitely revisit this recipe many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States