Lemon Poppy Seed Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This cake was delicious. I made a few modifications though. I used a white cake mix instead of lemon, but lemon pudding instead of vanilla. Also, I added 1 tbsp. of lemon extract, which I thought was going to be too much, but it was perfect! I cut the amount of oil in half, and added a cup of applesauce - it was the moistest cake I've ever had. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I love this cake, my husband loves it and all the adults in the neighborhood love it. We liked it so much I've made 4 in the last two weeks and none lasted more than 2 days. I followed the recipe with two exceptions. I used lemon pudding mix. I made a glaze using the juice of one orange and one lemon (large) combined with 1 1/3 cup powder sugar, combined in a sauce pan, stirred over low heat until just before boiling. After the cake has cooled 10-15 minutes I remove it from the bundt pan, pour half of the glazing into the pan, put the cake back into the pan (be careful to match up the patterns of the cake and the pan), then pour the remaining glazing on top and let it soak in. It seems like a lot of glazing, but just be patient, it will soak in. After the glazing has soaked in (about 5 minutes), remove the cake from the pan. It is lip smacking good and lemony. All my neighbors enjoy this cake. My young children (4 and 6 yr olds) like the cake but not the glazing part, I suspect they don't like the lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is really good for a cake mix recipe--normally I'm not a cake mix fan, but I needed something quick and easy, so I tried this, and it was really good. I did soak the poppy seeds and they were less crunchy, and I did use the full amount and thought it was fine. I also used lemon pudding mix, and I definitely wouldn't use anything else---if you're making a lemon cake, make a lemon cake. I made a powdered sugar and lemon juice icing and put over it while warm and recommend this as well. Very easy and good and my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Wonderful recipe. This was just what I was looking for. I think that mine only baked about 45 minutes. Even then, it probably could have come out of the oven 5 minutes sooner. Still delicious. For glaze, I used 1.5 cups confectioner sugar and 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice. I poked holes in the top before pouring on the cake. B/F and I have eaten half of the cake in the last 2 hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
9/1/08: My husband and kids have raved over this cake since I first made it. I have also made it for friends and family and they all love it as well. The only changes that I made were to omit the poppy seeds (could not find any) and I added 1/4 cup lemon juice to the batter. I used the glaze recommended on the reviews and its soooo good. This is a keeper in our family. To make the glaze I used 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and 1/4 cup-1/2 cup lemon juice. UPDATE: 12/15/08: I have made this recipe so many times. It is a definite favorite in our house and I have been asked for the recipe as well. I have since changed how I make this to make it a little less moist. I think after making this several times 2 TBS of Lemon Juice to the batter is plenty and I use 1/4 cup Oil with no problems. I also use Lemon Pudding Mix instead of Vanilla. I have made the glaze using less and its still really good. 1/2 cup Powdered sugar 1/4 cup lemon juice works well together poured over the cake. I did also incorporate the Poppy Seeds this time & love that in there. Thank you so very much again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
So moist and delicious! This was so good, we couldn't stop eating it. I did make a glaze with powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla to drizzle over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This cake is moist and has an intense lemon flavor - very yummy! I used a glaze recommended by another reviewer -juice of 1 orange and 1 lemon mixed with 1 1/3 cup powdered sugar. Heat the mixture just until boiling. I poured the whole amount over the top of the cake after I poked holes in it. I used the poppy seeds but I think next time I'll omit them and just have lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This cake was so yummy! Quick, Easy and OH SO Moist. I used the full amount of poppy seeds and soaked them; I also used Lemon pudding mix instead of the Vanilla. I baked this little heart shaped aluminum tins for Valentines Day and drizzled them lightly with icing made from concentrated lemon and confectioner’s sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used lemon pudding- my mom always did and we think its just too bland if you use vanilla. If you want lemon cake, you should make lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This is a great, easy recipe -- very similiar to the one my grandmother used to make when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States