Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
I didn't actually eat this bread, but I made it for other people. They loved it, and ate it as a dessert. I did though, taste the top of the bread, which has an orange type glaze, and it was wonderful. I could eat that all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
this was soooo yum! eaten and loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I've tried several lemon poppy bread recipes over the years and this one is the winner! It is SOOOOOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This bread was WONDERFUL, it really hit the spot. I was out of orange juice so I didn't use the glaze and it was still delicious! It didn't make as much as the recipe said it only filled two 8x5s but still very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Wonderful bread!!! Made it last night and didn't use the glaze as I was freezing two of the three loaves for the holidays. It was still great! Wish I had followed one reviewers advice, however, and only made two loaves. My three are not as high as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I make this bread every Christmas for family and friends and they love it! The only thing I do differently is omit the almond extract and use only the lemon extract in the bread and add 2 TBSP of melted butter and lemon extract to the topping. It is best poured over loaves when warm. My friends love it so much that they give me big bottles of poppyseeds for my birthday!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
tastes excellent and was a hit at my tea party but i think i'll put a little more lemon extract next time. wasn't quite lemony enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I have made this bread in several forms - large loaves, mini loaves (makes about 4) and muffins (24 regular-size). I have never used the glaze because the bread itself is sweet and moist enough. The most outstanding feature of this recipe is the batter itself. My husband called it "the best batter ever...it's like a batter milkshake!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Ahhhhh this is so good, ate it till I was ill and then ate more, even fiance who said "I don't like lemony baked goods" couldn't put it down. I made one giganto loaf, and upped the poppy seeds to a few heaping tablespoons. Also soaked the seeds in buttermilk for 2 hrs before starting. Thanks for the outstanding recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I made this into 24 mini muffins and 12 regular size muffins. This is very sweet, almost too sweet for me, but you can definitely taste the lemon (I used lemon juice, about 2.5 t). Also, the muffins turned out nice and soft, not soggy. All in all, a good lemon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States