Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
in response to the first post- don't add both lemon juice and buttermilk. They are both acidic and will dull the effect of the baking powder. Instead, add the lemon juice (I'd use only 1/3 cup) to plain milk (the amount originally suggested) in a measuring cup. This is the old fashioned way to create "sour milk", which will yeild you a very moist, rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I made a half recipe just to try it. As with other "bakers", I tweaked the recipe a bit; used juice and zest of a large lemon, 7 oz. Greek yogurt, and added 1/4 teas. baking soda. I still used the flavoring of both the lemon and vanilla. The aroma is amazing while it's baking, and tastes even better. A true keeper for my collection. Next time I will try making muffins and not using the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious!! Just like what you would find in a coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
excellent I added lemon juice as some suggested to enhance the lemon flavour and it turned out great. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Tried this recipe today. Followed other's suggestions of using 1/2 cup of lemon juice, but I also put in the extract. Very good. Made one loaf and 8 mini loaves. I baked the mini loaves for about 45 minutes and the regular loaf for 65 minutes. Both of us liked it; I'm giving it 4 stars because I would not have liked it as much without the lemon juice; we like lots of flavor in our sweet breads. I did not make the glaze, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
A very good recipe for quick and easy Lemon Poppy Bread. I took advice from MommyFromSeattle and used buttermilk, real lemon juice and extra poppy seeds. Also, I substituted tangerine for orange juice, and it turned out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This bread was delicious. I have made it with and without the glaze. It is great either way. I receive rave reviews every time I make this bread. Most people think it is a cake since it is so moist. People tell me it is the best lemon bread they have ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This bread was a Christmas tradition growing up at my house, It was always the gift for the neighbors. My recipe and this one are almost identicle. A few differences, I use almond extract instead of lemon, also add 1 /12 tsp of buter extract. When making the glaze use frozen orange juice concentrate, this makes the glaze a much better consitancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I love this recipe. I've made it several times. I added 2T poppy seeds and cut out the 1/8C oil. I baked it for 40-45 minutes in 5x3" tins and got seven small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cooperstown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I thought this came out pretty well. It is moist and the texture feels light even though the recipe calls for a lot of oil. My one complaint is that it wasn't lemony enough for me. In addition to the extract, I added the juice of one whole lemon and still it wasn't as noticeable as I normally like. My only other complaint was the glaze. I would have preferred a powdered sugar icing instead...this one was more like a syrup that you pour over to seep into the bread. If you like the idea of the syrup, I would advise poking a few holes in your bread with a toothpick to facilitate the syrup absorbing into the bread. If I made this again, I may skip the syrup all together and opt for an icing. I made this into 16 mini-bundts and one large loaf. I don't think there is enough batter for 3 loafs though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States