Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
wonderful for christmas gifts in little loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I've made this recipe several times and have made the following tweaks which have received rave reviews: Zest and juice 2 lemons. Add the juice and half of the zest to the milk. Make 24 muffins instead of bread. Instead of the sugar glaze, make a classic (but slightly thick) confectioner's sugar, milk glaze; adding the remaining zest and a touch of lemon extract or additional lemon juice. The secret to wow is this -- put some lemon curd in a pastry bag and squirt it into the center of each of the muffins using a bismark filling tip. Fill until the muffins bulge slightly, when you remove the tip, you should have a small yellow circular "center". Now, put the white confectioner's sugar glaze in a piping bag with a plain round tip. Pipe the glaze on to create diasy-like flower petals. Awesome results, looks very impressive on a bake sale table. Everybody loves them. With the injection of lemon curd you get the perfect amount of lemon flavor and you get lemon in every bite. You've got to try this at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly except substituted one cup of whole wheat flour for one of the cups of white flour. This is a wonderful/yummy bread. I made 2 large loafs instead of three. I also used toothpicks to poke holes through them right before I poured the glaze on them. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I have made this bread for Christmas gifts and family consumption for many years (12+) My recipe calls for 3 Tbsp. of Poppyseed 1 1/2 cups of oil and instead of lemon it has 1 1/2 tsp. of 3 different flavorings (vanilla, almond, and butter) The glaze has 1/2 tsp of the same 3 flavorings with the sugar & orange juice. This is quick to make because you can just dump all the ingredients into your mixer and let them combine. I always put a sheet of wax or parchment paper in the bottom of my pans and always make 2 regular loaves. My family would send me home if I failed to bring this to Thanksgiving and Christmas get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ga.Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
The bread was OK, but I won't make it again. I followed the recipe exactly, but was disappointed. I had hoped for a better result. The bread was very heavy--almost gooey, and the lemon flavor wasn't strong enough. Some of my friends who tried it liked the sweetness of it, but most said they preferred more tart lemon flavor and a lighter bread/cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This went over well. Its not a favorite but still well liked. I made a few changes based on previous reviews. Increased the poppy seeds to almost a 1/4 cup. Used 1/2 lemon juice instead of lemon extract n the cake and decreased the milk to 1 cup. Decreased the oil to 1 cup and used half oil and half applesauce. Added 1 T lemon zest and 1/2 tsp. baking soda to cake batter. Baked in Bundt pan @ 325 degrees for 1 hour 15 minutes. Decreased sugar to 2 cups. Came out great and didn't stick to the pan at all. Probably make again the next time we're in the mood for lemon-poppyseed flavored something:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Love this bread, and my husband raved about it. Took the advice of previous reviewers and made a few changes: used 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of extract, and used confectioners' sugar for the glaze. Also, I used 1/2 cup applesauce as a substitute for 1/2 cup of the oil. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This bread was pretty good but it definenetly needed more lemon in it. I added more then it said so and i could still hardely taste the recipe. It also didnt rise as much as i had hoped so it was a little bit flat. Overall this is a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I made this without the glaze and it was so good. I doubled the lemon extract to get a really nice lemon flavour. I also baked it at 325 F. I think next I will use only 2 loaf pans because it really didn't rise too much. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I'm giving this four because the flavor was good but it's not a perfect recipe. First off it's more like a cake or pound cake then bread- but we knew that from the amount of sugar. Secondly it only makes 2 loaves not three. Third I found the edges to be a little dark by the time the middle was done(just like in the current picture). Delicious but it's only called bread because of the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States