Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This very quickly became a family favorite, we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe is great just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Excellent! I like this type of bread very lemony and very moist, so I added the juice and zest of one lemon to the batter, in addition to the lemon extract. I divided the glaze into two parts. The first I used the 1/4 cup orange juice, the juice of one lemon and 1/3 cup sugar. I poked holes in the top of the bread and poured the glaze on top. Once the bread was cool, I made a simple powdered sugar glaze of about 1-1/4 cup powdered sugar, 1-1/2 Tbsp. water and 1/2 tsp lemon extract. I was attempting to make the bread like what I always get at Caribou Coffee. It came out soooo good. Very lemony and moist and the frosting on top is a nice treat! I found that this recipe only made two loaves of bread, and I baked them for 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
It turned out very dense! I'm not sure how?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Soooo tasty! I cut back on the oil just a touch and added some lemon juice for extra kick. Make sure to heat the orange juice when making the glaze so its nice and smooth. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Next time i will use real lemon juice and more poppy seeds. Other than that, it was great. Don't forget if you make muffins, the cooking time is reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Delicious-- this is becoming a family staple, hands down. I did make some changes, however. I don't like things too sweet, so I cut out a cup of sugar in the batter-- it was still plenty sweet for even my sugar-loving father. I also upped the poppy seeds to two tablespoons. For the glaze, I combined the juice and zest of one lemon with enough water to bring the liquid up to a quarter cup and then about a half-cup of sugar, maybe a little less. It was quite thin, so I added some arrow-root to thicken it; in the future I'll probably lessen the amount of water I add, but I'm posting it as I made it because it was perfect in terms of sweet-and-sour blend. I baked it in a bundt pan for about an hour, and then poured the glaze over. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
A+ for flavor. A+ for ease. My 6 year old asks for this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
this bread was delicous. the only thing i changed was i used a cup of oil, and then added a 1/4 cut of apple sauce, i also left out the glaze because i cant handle anything too sweet. But i made a sliced almond crumb topping instead: 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of flour, 2-3 table spoons of meltd butter, 1/2 cup to a cup of sliced almonds- depending on prefrence. i also left out the extract because i didnt have it, but i added 1/2 cup lemon juice and the rind of 2 lemons and it was perfect. Tasted fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rat Rod Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Doubled the recipe, used the juice on 2 lemons and a splash of lemon extract. Used a little extra poppy seeds. My husband loved it. It is his favorite. The lemon flavor was just right according to him. Use buttermilk if you can. Super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States