Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This recipe is a winner!!! I will definitely be keeping this is my recipe box. However, I did make a few changes. 1. I used fresh squeezed lemon juice and the lemon zest of 1 lemon instead of the extract. 2. I added a bit extra vanilla extract. 3. I made two loaves, not 3. The bread came out light and fluffy and very delicious!!! I only had minor problem with the bread sticking. I generously sprayed my pyrex pants with olive oil cooking spray, and I let the loaves stay in the pan for an hour. Only a little bit of the bread (on the bottom only) stuck to the pan. I did not make the topping bc I am freezing the bread. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This wasn't as lemony as I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is very much like my favorite lemon poppy seed bread recipe that I've misplaced. I added 1 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the bread mix and 1/2 tsp to the glaze. Just like I remembered, very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. That being said, I did make quite a few changes to the recipe, as enumerated below. - I used two regular loaf pans, and cooked at only 325 degrees, for the same length of time - increased poppy seeds to 2 1/2 tablespoons - used buttermilk instead of regular milk - added zest (I just used zest from one lemon) - increased lemon juice in bread to 1/4 cup - decreased sugar to 2 1/4 cups - for the glaze, I used powdered sugar instead of regular sugar. Then I used the listed amount of orange juice, but increased the lemon juice to about 1 tbs and used somewhere between a quarter and a half cup of powdered sugar, until I got the desired consistency and sweetness. - in preparing the ingredients, I mixed all the dry ingredients in one bowl, and the wet ones in another (mixing those at a low speed only as much as absolutely necessary) - I then combined the two taking care to only mix them for a short time, just enough to get rid of any big dry clumps. This prevents your batter from getting rubbery and keeps your bread fluffy and moist. Like I said, I made a lot of changes, but this was the best lemon poppy seed bread I have ever had. It was distinctly lemon in flavor (not overly sweet like so many lemon desserts, but still sweet enough), and the texture was perfect: melt in your mouth fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is overall a good recipe! I would suggest as many others have to add much more lemon to this recipe. Even adding 1/2 cup or more of fresh lemon juice and the zest from the lemon still leaves a mellow lemon taste. This is also a bit more of a dense bread. Doon't skip the orange juice topping, it is excellent! I poked holes in the top of my jumbo muffins (baked at 325 for 30 minutes) and poured the orange juice topping on. This would also be great with vanilla glaze from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Turned out poorly - good flavor and taste, but the texture was all wrong - too dense and as if I didn't put enough flour in. Followed the recipe exactly, so I don't know what happened there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Excellent bread! Very tasty. The glaze in this recipe is made with white sugar which makes it clear. I think I will try powdered sugar next time for the classic white glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
My advice is to brush the glaze on with a pastry brush so it doesn't overpower the more subtle bread. Other than that, this is perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaubrent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a super easy recipe. I made it for the girls at work and they raved about it. I got mixed reviews on whether it was lemony enough. Some thought it was, others didn't. My personal choice would be more lemon but to be fair, I didn't use the icing/glaze so that might have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My husband and I did not care for this recipe. He said it wasn't lemony enough, even though I added an additional 1/2 cup lemon juice. It baked up nicely but the flavor was too mild. I didn't make the glaze so maybe that would have made it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States