Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I halved the recipe and made into muffins. Got 12 regular and 12 mini. The taste was great although there wasn't quite enough lemon flavor for me (maybe because I used lemon juice instead of extract?) and it could have used a bit more poppy seeds but I think those are due to personal preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Gorgeous texture, beautifully moist - Easy to make. It was a little too sweet for my liking, next time I'm going to cut the sugar down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggaboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Wasn't overly impressed with result. The bread did not have a strong lemon flavor and tasted too much like a pound cake. I would not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This turned out really nicely! I did make a couple changes. First, I used REAL lemon. Don't like extract! I squeezed the juice from 2 lemons which ended up being about 1/3 cup of juice probably. Then grated the rind from both lemons and added that. I also increased the amount of poppy seeds to about 1/3 cup. I didn't bother withe the glaze. And I decided to use 2 large loaf pans instead of 3. Turned out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was really dense and a lot more like a cake than a bread. We were really not big fans of this recipe, it seemed like it had too much oil in it to be a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I used wheat flour and I'm not sure if that was the reason I did not find it to be lemony enough! Next time I would also use more poppy seeds than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this tonight and it was moist and flavorful. I took some of the suggestions and substitute 1/2c. applesauce fro 1/2 c. oil, used lemon juice instead of extract and substituted 1/2 of the white flour with wheat flour. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this recipe last night and it turned out AMAZING, sooooo delicious. Perfect amount of flavour and moistness. I did make some minor changes, I cut the sugar down to 2 cups, instead of the lemon extract I used lemon juice and also used lemon zest to give it that extra boost. I put a little more poppyseeds and opted out of the icing, the loaf on its own is amazing. I also made two loafs instead of three. I would suggest this recipe to any of my family or friends, and it is one that is going in the recipe book! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
i loooved it!!! It does make a lot though i thought there was only going to be one loaf but it ended up making three! but it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
After reading other reviews, I decided to half recipe and make only one loaf. I followed recipe except that I only added one egg and I used freshly squeezed lemon juice and zest. I added orange glaze as it came out of oven (after poking a few holes.) It was wonderful! The only problem I had was that it stuck to my loaf pan even though I liberally oiled it. Next time I will line pan with parchment paper. I even made lemon icing to use once it cooled but didn't need it with the orange glaze. Go ahead and try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States