Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this tonight and it was moist and flavorful. I took some of the suggestions and substitute 1/2c. applesauce fro 1/2 c. oil, used lemon juice instead of extract and substituted 1/2 of the white flour with wheat flour. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this recipe last night and it turned out AMAZING, sooooo delicious. Perfect amount of flavour and moistness. I did make some minor changes, I cut the sugar down to 2 cups, instead of the lemon extract I used lemon juice and also used lemon zest to give it that extra boost. I put a little more poppyseeds and opted out of the icing, the loaf on its own is amazing. I also made two loafs instead of three. I would suggest this recipe to any of my family or friends, and it is one that is going in the recipe book! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
i loooved it!!! It does make a lot though i thought there was only going to be one loaf but it ended up making three! but it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
After reading other reviews, I decided to half recipe and make only one loaf. I followed recipe except that I only added one egg and I used freshly squeezed lemon juice and zest. I added orange glaze as it came out of oven (after poking a few holes.) It was wonderful! The only problem I had was that it stuck to my loaf pan even though I liberally oiled it. Next time I will line pan with parchment paper. I even made lemon icing to use once it cooled but didn't need it with the orange glaze. Go ahead and try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This recipe is a winner!!! I will definitely be keeping this is my recipe box. However, I did make a few changes. 1. I used fresh squeezed lemon juice and the lemon zest of 1 lemon instead of the extract. 2. I added a bit extra vanilla extract. 3. I made two loaves, not 3. The bread came out light and fluffy and very delicious!!! I only had minor problem with the bread sticking. I generously sprayed my pyrex pants with olive oil cooking spray, and I let the loaves stay in the pan for an hour. Only a little bit of the bread (on the bottom only) stuck to the pan. I did not make the topping bc I am freezing the bread. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This wasn't as lemony as I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is very much like my favorite lemon poppy seed bread recipe that I've misplaced. I added 1 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the bread mix and 1/2 tsp to the glaze. Just like I remembered, very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. That being said, I did make quite a few changes to the recipe, as enumerated below. - I used two regular loaf pans, and cooked at only 325 degrees, for the same length of time - increased poppy seeds to 2 1/2 tablespoons - used buttermilk instead of regular milk - added zest (I just used zest from one lemon) - increased lemon juice in bread to 1/4 cup - decreased sugar to 2 1/4 cups - for the glaze, I used powdered sugar instead of regular sugar. Then I used the listed amount of orange juice, but increased the lemon juice to about 1 tbs and used somewhere between a quarter and a half cup of powdered sugar, until I got the desired consistency and sweetness. - in preparing the ingredients, I mixed all the dry ingredients in one bowl, and the wet ones in another (mixing those at a low speed only as much as absolutely necessary) - I then combined the two taking care to only mix them for a short time, just enough to get rid of any big dry clumps. This prevents your batter from getting rubbery and keeps your bread fluffy and moist. Like I said, I made a lot of changes, but this was the best lemon poppy seed bread I have ever had. It was distinctly lemon in flavor (not overly sweet like so many lemon desserts, but still sweet enough), and the texture was perfect: melt in your mouth fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is overall a good recipe! I would suggest as many others have to add much more lemon to this recipe. Even adding 1/2 cup or more of fresh lemon juice and the zest from the lemon still leaves a mellow lemon taste. This is also a bit more of a dense bread. Doon't skip the orange juice topping, it is excellent! I poked holes in the top of my jumbo muffins (baked at 325 for 30 minutes) and poured the orange juice topping on. This would also be great with vanilla glaze from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Turned out poorly - good flavor and taste, but the texture was all wrong - too dense and as if I didn't put enough flour in. Followed the recipe exactly, so I don't know what happened there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States