Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
A real favorite!!!!!! I added 1/4 cup orange juice to the batter. Sooooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I was actually very underwhelmed with this recipe. I have a great convection oven and I actually baked this by ten minutes less than what was asked. It came out dry and not very good. The flavor itself was okay, but I would keep looking for another recipe if you want something worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I wasn't sure what to expect since lemon breads can all differ greatly; this was definitely more of a sweet, dessert, pound cake-like bread and it had wonderful flavor! In addition to the ingredients listed, I added a couple splashes of real lemon juice and the rind of one lemon. I did not make the glaze recipe that came with it but made my own out of the juice of one lemon, vanilla, and powdered sugar and that glaze was a perfect compliment. To prevent it from sticking to the pan, I buttered and then floured the pan and I had no problem with it sticking. I cut the recipe in half and made one large loaf, which took a good hour and 20ish minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kilikena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and used lemon extract - I personally didn't really care for this - way too strong of a lemon flavor - I'm going back to my old recipe that uses yellow cake mix instead...way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is the first lemon poppy seed bread recipe I've ever bothered to try because the others all seemed off somehow. So, I was skeptical at first because this one seemed almost too perfect. And, wow.... it really is! There really are NO changes to be made to this recipe. I followed it exactly the first three times I've made it and it is just wonderful. I even swapped out some of the flour (the fourth time) for whole wheat and it was still a beautiful treat. Thanks for sharing this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I love quick breads like this, but mine did not turn out well. I subbed lemon juice & lemon peel for the extract. This had hardly any flavor. I checked the tiny 3 loaves at 55 mins & they tested done. But after the glaze & cooling they look & feel like they aren't cooked through. The glaze recipe is way off too. These are going in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe is very easy and delicious. I did take some other reviewers advice and used real lemon juice ( in the bottle) and I used 1/4 cup of real lemon juice. I made it in 3 loaf pans and it was perfect. I used regular sugar in the glaze, I microwaved the orange juice first to help the sugar dissolve thanks to another reviewer. I also added more real lemon juice to taste to the glaze. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I halved the recipe and made into muffins. Got 12 regular and 12 mini. The taste was great although there wasn't quite enough lemon flavor for me (maybe because I used lemon juice instead of extract?) and it could have used a bit more poppy seeds but I think those are due to personal preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Gorgeous texture, beautifully moist - Easy to make. It was a little too sweet for my liking, next time I'm going to cut the sugar down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggaboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Wasn't overly impressed with result. The bread did not have a strong lemon flavor and tasted too much like a pound cake. I would not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States