Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good and very moist, but I would like it to have a lot more lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Not sure what went wrong with this recipe or if I made it the way it was supposed to be. I reduced the sugar 1/4 cup and the oil 1/8 cup. This cake had an off taste to it. I think it had way too much oil. I used real lemon juice instead of extract. The cake had a play dough like taste to it. The consistency was dense. No one in the house liked it. I made it because I had no lemons or butter defrosted and I believed the reviews. But it was awful. I went to Martha stewart on line and got a different recipe with real lemon juice and butter which was a winner. Have used many recipes off here and this one was the worst so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was very good! I made two loaves instead of three (and added 5 min of baking time), and one loaf was gone in only a few hours! I followed some of the others' suggestions by squeezing some lemon juice and adding enough milk to it to make 1 1/2 c. I still added some lemon extract (a little less than 1 t because I ran out). I also added more poppy seeds and reduced the sugar to 2 c. Delicious! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Wonderful! I didn't have lemon extract so I substituted a little lemon zest and fresh lemon juice. Turned out amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very average. Used real lemon juice. Substituted lemon juice for orange juice, and added lemon zest. Still didn't have much lemon flavour and was very fluffy. Was looking for more of a pound cake texture to this. This recipe was more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The BEST! I used a lemon and its zest instead of extract. Not too overpowering. Only used 2 cups sugar and it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Yummy lemon poppy seed bread.... I took advice from the other reviewers and used real lemon juice in addition to the extract... which gave it great flavor.. I did add a little extra baking powder to counter act the acidity and ensure that this bread would bake up nicely, which it did... I also added extra poppy seeds... I made mine in two normal sized bread pans instead of the 8x4... turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I substituted apple sauce for part of the oil and halved the recipe but used 2 eggs rather than "1 1/2"... the result was very dense. I wouldn't recommend making the changes. I added lemon zest and lemon juice as well in addition the the extract and it was 'just' lemon-y enough... so for those that like lemon, follow the other user's advice on using zest and juice too. Because I changed it I used it's average star rating at the time I tried the recipe opposed to rating my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is quite possibly the best scratch made cake that has come out of my oven. I baked it in a bundt pan for a little under and hour and it was really, really delicious. I followed the advice of juicing and zesting two lemons into a large measuring cup and pouring the milk in to equal 1 1/2 cups. Let it sit for 5 minutes to get a little funky (like buttermilk) and added the oil and eggs to the same cup. It seemed that there were mixed reviews on the icing so I looked at some other recipes similar to this one and came up with this concoction: juice and zest from one lemon, about a cup of powdered sugar (depends on how much juice you get out of the lemon), a tbl of melted butter, and a tbl of water. Don't be scared by the watery glaze!! It is meant to soak into the bread like a simple syrup, NOT pour over the sides in thick lovely mounds. I also poked the top of the cake with a toothpick (after I turned it out to cool) all over the place to facilitate the "soak." I was left with a really nice crunchy, sugary layer on the outside of the cake and an uncredibly moist, tender, pleasingly dense cake on the inside with lemon everywhere! No extracts or artificial flavorings in this cake and it was absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was super tasty. I did add fresh lemon juice, and lemon zest. The glaze wasn't even necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States