Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
There are lots of conflicting reviews on this recipe, so I read them all and tried to make the most common (sense) adjustments before baking. First, some facts: 1) The base recipe is really more of a cake than a bread, 2) This recipe makes two (not three!) loafs, and 3) Use lemon juice, not lemon extract to get the zesty burst of lemon flavor. The Batter: Added ½ cup of lemon juice instead of extract. Increased oil to 1 and ¼ cup for a moist cake. Left the sugar and the poppy seeds at the original recipe. I was surprised how many people said it was too sweet. Not so for me! Be sure to taste your batter to get it to your liking. Next time I will bake at 325. The sides were done before the middle and got a little too crusty. White Sugar Glaze: I let the cake cool for 10 minutes as recommended, then made a ¼ cup lemon juice, 1/3 cup white sugar glaze (microwaved to melt it down). I cut holes in the cake, infused it, and coated the top too. This gave the cake a tangy tartness. Powdered Sugar Glaze: When cooled, I made a 1 ¼ cup powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons milk glaze to spread on top. This was the sweetness it needed. Until I added the glaze, I felt it wasn't sweet enough. All in all, good recipe. The cake was tasty (maybe a tad too dense), the white sugar glaze was tart, and the powdered sugar glaze gave it sweetness. I love lemon and wanted to make something springy, so this fit the bill. I will be thinking about how to make this recipe a bit less dense next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I was not sure why the recipe called for baking in 3 - 8x4 pans but I followed the recipe and think they could have been baked in two 8x4 pans or a Bundt pan. It's good but next time I will double the poppy seeds, add fresh lemon juice, and bake in a bundt pan. The sides of the bread clung to the pan and rose faster than the center as it baked - I'm not quite sure why it did that. Perhaps the pans should be dusted with flour as well. I omitted the glaze this time. Overall it's good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMIE LAWSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My husband and I both thought this was delicious! So moist and way more like cake then bread:). I did not use the glaze, I didn't have orange juice on hand but it was still very moist and great without it. I had a problem getting it out of the pans (I used 2) and small part of the bottom was stuck but that was probably me not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious! I made 12 muffins and 2 loaves but I think I should have just put the loaves batter all in one. The 2 were just too thin. I used 1 squeezed lemon for the batter instead of the lemon extract. I cooked the muffins for about 27 mins and the loaves for 45 but I think the loaves cooked a bit too long. I would cut it down by at least 5 mins unless I do 1 loaf instead of the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I can't tell you how may times I have made this, since finding it on here. We prefer muffins to loaves, so I put all the batter into muffin tins, and cook for 25 min. I have never used the glaze on these. They are so good as is. I like mine to puff up a bit more, so I add a little extra baking powder, but everything else stays the same. These are so good if you haven't tried them, it's worth the "risk."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was a huge hit- and easy to make. I also didn't think it needed the glaze- it was sweet/savory enough. I added more poppy seeds than what was in the recipe, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Made as written and was looking forward to eating it for breakfast the next day. Wow! So much sugar, I honestly got dizzy from a very small piece. Don't eat this on an empty stomach. I should have read the other review about cutting the sugar. I threw out the whole batch, and I think I'll try again with less sweet this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winnigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Amazing. That is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good and very moist, but I would like it to have a lot more lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States