Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Just made this recipe - without the glaze - and it tastes delicious. I cut the recipe by thirds, intending to only make 1 loaf. It worked out okay, texture-wise, but the loaf is only about 2 inches tall. So next time I would probably make 2/3 of the recipe so that the loaf is taller. I'll definitely make this again and next time I'll be sure to have some orange juice on-hand so I can try the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I took several suggestions from other postings and made the following changes. I used 1/2 c. of fresh lemon juice and the zest from one lemon, 1 c. of milk, used 3 T. of poppy seeds, decreased the oil to just over 3/4 c., and cut the sugar to just 2 c. I did not use a glaze at all, and I think the lemon flavor is just right! Good dense texture (which I like in a bread), and not too crumbly or too sweet. I made these 2 days ago, and it is better today than yesterday. This would be a good base to add blueberries or raspberries to in place of the poppy seeds! I may try that next time. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This recipe was very easy, but didn't have as strong a lemon flavour as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Great recipe, but I feel it can be improved. I added the zest of one lemon and the juice of two lemons (I decreased the amount of milk to make up for the extra liquid) and doubled the amount of poppy seeds. The natural lemon flavor, in my opinion, makes a better bread than the extract alone. I also used the lemon and vanilla extract called for in the recipe and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. Also, definitely use confectioner's sugar rather than granulated sugar in the glaze and heat the OJ up in the microwave to assist with melting the sugar. I used a bundt pan sprayed with cooking spray w/flour on 325 for exactly one hour, and the bread was perfectly done. My oven is a little hotter than most, so 340 would probably work in a normal oven. I let the bread sit in the pan for 10 minutes then dumped it onto a cooling rack and glazed it. After it cooled, I wrapped the bread in plastic wrap and let it sit out at room temp. overnight. It is incredible this morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This lemon poppy seed bread was great! Best i've ever tasted and i got so many compliments on it. I just made a couple changes. I was out of vanilla extract so i used almond extract. I also squeezed half of a large lemon into the cake batter before i poured it into the pans. For the icing, i also used almond extract and i squeezed another half lemon into the mix. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Delicious! Unbelievable, don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was better than any lemon poppy seed bread/muffin that I've *ever* had...thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Everyone loves this! I've been asked a dozen times for the recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and decreased the oil to about 3/4 cup, and added zest & juice from one lemon. My first batch was too dark on the bottom and sides, so I decreased the temp to 325 degrees and baked two loaves for an hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Good recipe, but please use REAL LEMON JUICE. The extract doesn't impart any lemon flavor. I use a full 1/2 cup of lemon juice (the bottled juice is perfect for this), 3 teaspoons of poppy seed and buttermilk instead of regular milk. The buttermilk improves the texture of the bread, creating a lighter, fluffier version. If you like your bread a little denser, than stick with regular milk. I baked mine in 2 loaf pans instead of three. For the Glaze: 1/4 cup orange juice, 4-5 tablepsoons powdered sugar. Don't use original recipe for the glaze, it's way too sweet. Always use powdered sugar when making a glaze for ANYTHING. (3 star for original recipe, 5 stars for alterations. Great base recipe though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States