Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
My husband is a big fan of lemon poppy seed. I made one big loaf and 3 mini loaves. I ended up freezing them so my husband could have slices of it throughout the week for breakfast. It freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Mattix
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
It was very good.. I made muffins with this recipe and it was very good.. I made the glaze with orange extract and it was fine....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
It was really good and moist. I think i should have let the topping cool a bit more, so that it had thickened. Otherwise its all good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Symonds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I was looking through the pictures and noticed that some breads looked more dense than others and others were lighter and fluffier. I believe this is a quick bread recipe and meant to be thick (which us how we prefer it)however if you prefer a more coffee cake like consistency then pull out your old mixer and beat your wet ingredients into your dry ingredients. It will add air to your batter giving it a cake like texture. Also, use coconut oil to prepare your pans. It will keep your bread from getting too dark on the sides and the bonus is its healthier. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My husband and brother have told me that I must write a review because they loved this bread so much. I make this recipe in mini loaf pans so everyone in the family can take some home. I used whole milk and when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Since my son fell in love with the lemon poppy seed bread at Caribou, I have wanted to find a recipe to make at home to satisfy his taste for it. This bread definitely fits the bill. I've only made it once and I made it exactly as the recipe states. It gets a big ol' thumbs up from my son and myself. The only thing I'm not a huge fan of is the glaze as it is in the recipe. (The glaze is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars). I'll probably experiment with other glazes next time I make it. But the bread itself is great and has just the right amount of lemon flavor for our palettes. As for quantity, I made the amount of batter that came up for the recipe but made one loaf and 12 muffins with it instead of the 3 loaves. Seemed to come out just right. The muffins were ready after about 35 minutes and the loaf took the whole 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
The best I have tried, simply delicious every time! Only change I make is doubling the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was a delicious, lemony poppy seed bread. I'm a bit disappointed in the glaze, hence the 4 stars. I added 1/2 C lemon juice and some lemon rind to the batter. Anyway---quite tasty, and I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My breads came out amazing, however, o had to make changes, which is why I'm not giving this recipe 5 stars. Real lemon, and extra poppy seeds in the bread and real lemon in the glaze. Extract tastes like cheap candy. I refuse to use it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very good. We made 2 loaves out of the bread instead of 3. I put the glaze on one and not the other. Everyone liked both of them but some liked the added crunch of the one with the glaze better. I read a bunch of review first and did some things differently according to the reviews. I used real lemons instead of the lemon extract. I put in the juice of 2 lemons and added it to the milk so that the total of the 2 combined was 1 1/2 cups. I used 2 tbs. poppy seeds. For the icing I used the orange juice, some lemon juice and enough powdered sugar to make it the right consistency. I poked holes in the top of the bread on poured it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States