Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I really liked these. The flavor is subtle, but good. The dough was sticky and I was able to form it into a log only by putting blobs of dough on the cookie sheet and smoothing it into log shape with wet fingers. I took another reviewers suggestion and used the leftover egg yolk to brush on the logs before baking. It probably isn't necessary, but it keeps you from wasting the yolks. You MUST use a serrated knife to slice the logs. I had no trouble with mine cracking apart. The finished biscotti are very crisp, but I wouldn't call them hard. I baked them the second time for 5 minutes on one side, turned them, and baked for 4 minutes on the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I've had to come back to edit this review. At first, I was pretty happy with this recipe. When I first took them out of the oven the second time, the lemon flavor was subtle but very nice. But by the next day, the flavor had faded and become unpleasant and strange.. vaguely citrusy, but it didn't meld well with the flavor of the almonds. I had made these for a friend and when I asked her if they were good, she sort of giggled and said, "Well, I wasn't going to say anything, but...." Also - I only used 1 1/2 tbsp. poppyseed and it was PLENTY. Sorry, I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I brought these to work and everyone loved them. Different from the usual cocoa or nut flavoured biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was so easy to make. As previous members stated I added 6 tablespoon of lemon juice. i didnt have lemon extract. Also I added grounded up walnuts instead of almonds. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This biscotti has virtually no lemon flavor and WAY TOO MUCH poppy seeds. I don't know if the 3 Tablespoons is wrong or what, but the only thing I tasted was poppy seed. I won't make this again, although it did have a good texture. Maybe use it as a base for another type of biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I like these! I made them using Splenda for Baking. They do not have a strong lemon flavor, which I like. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I wasn't very fond of this. Okay flavor but to hard even when dunking in your morning caffine injection. A friend of mine liked them so I let him eat them all. Not a great recipe. If you are set on making this only bake two times. Do not bake the last third time, hopefully you'll have a softer product. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
It was very hard to mix together and get into the shape of a log. Then when it baked it wanted to burn. I tried slicing them and there were areas that fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Because other reviewers said this wasn't lemony enough and because I didn't have any lemon extract, I added 4 tablespoons of lemon juice. I also added 1 T. of oil because I didn't want these to be rock hard. So, I had to add about 1/2 c. extra flour. I also added extra poppy seeds--maybe 1/4 c. extra. I can taste the lemon, and the biscotti are nice and crispy, without being tooth-chipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Great taste, excellent combination of flavor with a good mix of both carbohydrate and protein. Almonds are such a healthy protein. I was very disappointed in the yield. The recipe claims 36-No way cut in 1/2 inch links! May yield was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States