Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and the dough was extremely dry. Okay, they don't have any fat so maybe that was the reason, I thought. I proceeded to make and bake the cookies. When I finished and took a bite...What a waste of perfectly good poppy seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Great biscotti recipe. Was apprehensive about so little wet ingredients so I used the juice from the zested lemon and doubled the lemon extract. I also dusted the top with icing sugar before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Meh. Ok, but pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
All in all a good recipe. I used all the juice from the naked lemon that I took the zest off of and doubled the lemon extract. That gave it a nice lemon flavor without being over powering. Also thanks to Cheesecake factory's lemon raspberry cheesecake, I boiled some raspberry jam to the hard ball stage and spooned this over the biscotti before I did the final toasting in the oven. It turned out great. Just a little variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made these cookies one night and by the next day they were all gone. Everybody loved them. Now when I make them I change the flavor by changing Almond extract with the lemon extract and added sliced almonds instead of poppy seeds. You can do this with all different kinds of flavoring and different add in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Made as directed, and they were good. I felt they had too many poppy seeds, as I found myself extracting them from my gums for a while after eating. I think next time I will use 1/2 the amount. Will also use lemon OIL instead of lemon extract next time to amp up the lemony flavor. I spread some white chocolate on the bottoms of half of these, and that was a really yummy combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a very good recipe for low-fat biscotti. The cookies are very tasty and crispy, but need a little more of a lemony taste. Next time I make them, I will probably add a little lemon juice or something to boost the lemon flavor. I did drizzle the finished cookies with a glaze; I simply mixed powdered sugar with enough lemon juice to make a good glazing consistency. This boosted the lemon flavor slightly, and made them look very pretty! I also used only 2 tbs. of poppy seeds, because 3 tbs. seemed like way to much. Thanks for a tasty recipe; I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
the dough was crumbly and definitely took some work to form into logs - wetting hands first helped a lot. I was worried about the logs being too thin (less than 1/2" tall) but they puffed up nicely in the oven. i took the advice to use up the yolks as an egg wash and got a really lovely yellow color, but i think i will skip that next time because it tasted too "eggy". really nice crunch, but not enough of the lemon flavour - will have to up the amount of zest and extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The first time I made the recipe I had to scrap the dough and start over. It wouldn't hold together so I tried 1/2 cup of oil but then it cracked and fell apart when I cut it. When I made it the second time I used 1 1/2 tbsp of poppy seeds, the juice of one lemon, 1 tbsp of almond extract, and 2 tbsp of water. The dough was sticky but it turned out perfectly when cooked. It's a little less dry than traditional biscotti, easy to make and tastes like my favorite muffins (lemon poppyseed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States