Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Fantastic base recipe! I substitute lemon extract for almond extract and I add 3/4 cup pistachios in addition to the recipe. When cooled; I melt dark chocolate and swirl it on. I made these for Christmas and now Valentine's Day! A crowd favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Was not crazy about these. I added fresh lemon juice as well as the lemon extract. There was too much poppy seeds as well. I found the dough to be flaky and it was hard to put it together so it didn't fell apart. It needed more liquid and that's when I added the fresh lemon juice. I also cooked it longer the second part of the baking. They were so boring that I frosted them with lemon frosting. Have had and made better. Will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ukienomad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiesoule
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
So I didn't have almonds in the house, I substituted them with pecans and it still turned out great, I also increased the lemon zest to 1.5 tbsp, the lemon extract to 1.5 tsp, and decreased the the poppy seeds to 2 tbsp. I also increased the baking time after slicing because they were not crispy enough, I baked them for 15 minutes on one side, 10 minutes on the other and now they taste perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe as it is written but my biscotti did not turn as crisp as other biscotti. I also found them them to be a bit too dry and coated them in a lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful biscotti recipe! As per other reviewers suggestions, I cut back the amount of poppy seeds to 1.5 tsp and used 2 tsp of Pure Lemon Extract - gives it a wonderful but not over-powering lemon flavour - PERFECT!!! I have found a secret to not handling sticky biscotti dough,as it tends to gets stcky because of the heat in your kitchen so I place my dough in the fridge for about 20-25 minutes and this helps to firm it up and can be shaped into the logs without it sticking! Works like a charm on ANY biscotti recipe that I have tried so far! I love this lemon poppy seed recipe and will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Quite a nice biscotti, although not as crunchy as I would have liked. I only used 2 tablespoons of poppy seeds, upped the lemon zest to 2 tablespoons and used the juice of the lemon rather than extract. Also used the leftover yolks to glaze the top of the biscotti before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I did not care for these.. the cookies were so hard.. you could almost break your teeth with them...had to add extra liquid.....would not make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These were ok. I didn't have lemon extract so I used a little more than 1/4 cup of lemon juice, which resulted in too wet of a dough so I had to add almost 3/4 cup extra flour. Even then it wasnt lemony enough for me. Next time i would definitely use lemon extract but more than 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Wow, I don't know what I did wrong but these were way too dry to easily form into logs. Then when I tried slicing them, they pretty much just crumbled into chunks. The taste was good but I wish mine looked like the ones in the pictures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and the dough was extremely dry. Okay, they don't have any fat so maybe that was the reason, I thought. I proceeded to make and bake the cookies. When I finished and took a bite...What a waste of perfectly good poppy seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States