Lemon Poppy Seed Amish Friendship Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This was yummy and worked great as muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
This is a very moist and delicious recipe. I added 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Peel and substituted Lemon Extract for the Vanilla Extract. Even more Lemony. Thanks for a good recipe to used with the Amish Starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
This is a great tasting recipe. Moist and full of flavor. It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I thought I would have to freeze some of this bread because it made so much, but my family ate it up before it ever needed to be frozen. Delicious! This would make great gifts, and works well in small loaf pans. I used 6 individual loaf pans for one recipe. I also added a teaspoon of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Excellent recipe. I already had the friendship bread starter. This is lower fat tha my other recipe and just as good as the really fat version. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe for breakfast muffins! Following is a variation you might wish to try which I've developed from this recipe: Make the following substitutions: Instead of the poppy seeds, use 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips and chopped walnuts; instead of the ground cinnamon, use 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder; instead of lemon pudding mix, use chocolate pudding mix; instead of vanilla, use chopped maraschino cherries and their juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Yummy, yummy. I made these as muffins....wow. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This recipe was very good. The only thing I would change on this recipe is that if you cook it the full hour it will be too dry. Therefore, I started out at 50 minutes. The color was perfert, but it was a little bit not done. Another thing I would add (if I had a recipe for it)is a lemon based sugar icing. Otherwise this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This recipe was so delicious! Ok I did make some changes as I made muffins. First I only had the Mango/Mandarin Orange applesauce my kids take with them in their lunches. I assumed it was 1/2 cup. It gave it some awesome flavor. If you all haven't tried it with different applesauces yet you should try it. I made 20 lage size muffins. I probably added to much of the batter in the cups. But that did not take away from their taste. I baked them at 425 for 20 to 23 minutes. The first batch 23 the last 20 they were golden brown and oh so moist. I did add in quite a bit more poppyseeds than it called for. I went for how the instant mixes looked and just added more in till it looked right. My husband said that these were much better than the instant mixes. served with ice cold milk on the side they are sweet, moist and they even melt in your mouth. Thank you for the recipe. Next batch: Banana Nut Muffins with Blueberry morning applesauce. Should be interesting. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNSCOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States