Lemon Poppy Seed Amish Friendship Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
This is a very moist and delicious recipe. I added 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Peel and substituted Lemon Extract for the Vanilla Extract. Even more Lemony. Thanks for a good recipe to used with the Amish Starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
My family loves this recipe though I made muffins rather than a loaf bread. I put in muffin tins and baked approx 25 minutes at 325 and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wray, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Excellent recipe. I already had the friendship bread starter. This is lower fat tha my other recipe and just as good as the really fat version. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe for breakfast muffins! Following is a variation you might wish to try which I've developed from this recipe: Make the following substitutions: Instead of the poppy seeds, use 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips and chopped walnuts; instead of the ground cinnamon, use 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder; instead of lemon pudding mix, use chocolate pudding mix; instead of vanilla, use chopped maraschino cherries and their juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I thought I would have to freeze some of this bread because it made so much, but my family ate it up before it ever needed to be frozen. Delicious! This would make great gifts, and works well in small loaf pans. I used 6 individual loaf pans for one recipe. I also added a teaspoon of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
This is a great tasting recipe. Moist and full of flavor. It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Awesome. Everyone loved it. Added about a tablespoon of lemon juice because it was handy. Making again--great way to get rid of all my starter! UPDATE: Made medium sized muffins; takes about a half hour to bake, but they really don't rise very much. Tasty to eat though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2000
My whole family loved this recipe! I ended up making mini muffins, and they didn't last very long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This was yummy and worked great as muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States