Lemon Poppy Seed Amish Friendship Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
My family loves this recipe though I made muffins rather than a loaf bread. I put in muffin tins and baked approx 25 minutes at 325 and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wray, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Good recipe- those who like the sweetness. For me its too sweet for health reason- Its because pudding,apple sauce, amish batter already has sugar on it.I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 box of lemon pudding, added more milk with 1/4 or 1/2 cup of milk then watch for the right consistency otherwise its too thick. It cook very well and it comes out perfect for me. You dont have to add more milk if you dont want to. I used pure vanilla or Lemon extract if available -eaither way both great flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe is much better then the original Amish Friendship Bread. I used 1 tsp lemon extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract in place of the 2 tsp of vanilla. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup because otherwise it is just to sweet, may try 2/3 cup next time. The only other change was I baked the bread for 50 minutes and it was perfect. The lemon flavor got stonger as it cooled. Will make again and include this recipe in the starter kits I give out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Thanks for the recipe!. My daughter loves lemon poppy seed bread/ muffins. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Watch this bread so that it does not get too done. But a wonderful moist sweet bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This was not lemony enough and the texture was heavy. Also, the starter flavor came through too much in a way that didn't go with the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was good and my husband liked it. I do appreciate the variation on the regular friendship bread recipe. However, it was too "gummy" as others have described it. Maybe too much pudding... and a little more lemony than I would have liked - again too much pudding. I may try it again with only one box of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This recipe was so delicious! Ok I did make some changes as I made muffins. First I only had the Mango/Mandarin Orange applesauce my kids take with them in their lunches. I assumed it was 1/2 cup. It gave it some awesome flavor. If you all haven't tried it with different applesauces yet you should try it. I made 20 lage size muffins. I probably added to much of the batter in the cups. But that did not take away from their taste. I baked them at 425 for 20 to 23 minutes. The first batch 23 the last 20 they were golden brown and oh so moist. I did add in quite a bit more poppyseeds than it called for. I went for how the instant mixes looked and just added more in till it looked right. My husband said that these were much better than the instant mixes. served with ice cold milk on the side they are sweet, moist and they even melt in your mouth. Thank you for the recipe. Next batch: Banana Nut Muffins with Blueberry morning applesauce. Should be interesting. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNSCOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily Duff
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Good flavor, but a little too light and "gummy" for my taste. I already had the starter and have been making the "regular" friendship bread with vanilla pudding for several weeks. I decided to try this version for variety, but I like the density/chewyness of the loaf version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I am not as impressed as the others. It is okay, but not as good as the Cinnamon recipe I have. I sent it to a church lock-in for about 30 kids, and half still came back. Here's another view on the temp. I went 60 min at 350 and had a slightly burned outside, not done inside. Turned the oven down to 325 and let it go another 10-15 min and inside was just right. I did a bundt, muffins and small loaf. The bundt and muffins both burnt, I learned by the time of the small loaves! (I make triple or quadruple batches...no one to give my extra starter to!)I won't make this again, by request of my family. I will try the chocolate version (sans cherries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States