Lemon Poppy Seed Amish Friendship Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Like many others, I added the zest of a lemon, knowing from experience that lemon pudding mix alone wouldn't give it enough lemon flavor. I think the zest of 2-3 lemons would really be much better. I also made a glaze of lemon juice, powdered sugar, and a little milk (just to thin it out). I drizzled half of the glaze over the top of the loaves just after they came out of the oven and then drizzled the remaining glaze over tops after the bread had cooled for about an hour. Everyone loved it at work; they ate more of mine than they did my co-worker's chocolate version (although I think the chocolate bread would be good if you added a little cocoa and/or some choc. chips, peanut butter chips, or nuts to the batter.) Finally, my loaves took much longer than an hour to bake. I would give them at least 15 to 20 minutes extra, depending on the heat of your oven. But overall, this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Instead of oil, I used applesauce. I also added grated lemon peel from 2 large lemons and the juice of one lemon to the batter. When the bread was done cooking, I mixed confectioners sugar with water and fresh squeezed lemon juice in a small bowl. After the bread had cooled for about 15 minutes, I poked holes in the top of both breads with a wooden skewer and spooned the icing mixture over the top of the breads until well covered and running down the bread. I let the breads cool about 20 minutes more, then removed them from the pans. I took a loaf to my husbands work the next day, and every one loved it. Some asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debmac39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is my favorite recipe to use with the starter! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This turned out very well. Hit with the kids and husband. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Very Good. I used 1/2 C sugar and 1/2 C Splenda without sacrificing texture or flavor. Since I had only one box lemon pudding, I used that and one of lemon pudding. I substituted 1/2 t of lemon juice and 1 1/2 t of vanilla. Not too tart. Could add grated lemon rind and more poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this twice already!My co-workers loved it. I did add an additional rine of 1 lemon, no applesauce, & an extra half cup of milk & oil.Either way this a great recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-BANANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was a very moist bread, and I liked that it was lower fat than most of the friendship bread recipes. I used lemon extract instead of vanilla, and I thought that there was a strong chemical lemon taste between the pudding and the extract. I would stick with vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Awesome. Everyone loved it. Added about a tablespoon of lemon juice because it was handy. Making again--great way to get rid of all my starter! UPDATE: Made medium sized muffins; takes about a half hour to bake, but they really don't rise very much. Tasty to eat though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe. Haven't tried it yet but will have a starter ready in 3 days. will see how it goes then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Really good. I followed the recipe exactly but next time will try using lemon extract just because I like it real lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States