Lemon Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
All I can really say is this recipe is fantastic. When a recipe is so good I can't make it enough and my husband asks to make it then you know it is good. This recipe is so good that when I make it people take credit and say they made it beause of all the compliments that it gets. This recipe is also easy to make, which my kids can attest to, at 8 (boy) and 3(girl) they both run to the kitchen when I say I'm making lemon cake. There is no comparison for this moist, fluffy cake, once you've made it once you'll keep making it. Just a little clue to that, I made this cake for the first time in August and have made approximately 25 since then. Sometimes 3 cakes at one time. People have told me to stop teasing them with pieces and start making whole cakes when I share with them. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
A great recipe. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This recipe was very easy to make! The cake was moist and delicious! I plan on making two more this week - one for home and one for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This cake has such a strong lemon flavor! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This is a great recipe that I will make again and again! For a lower fat version, I used applesauce in place of the oil and 1 cup egg substitute for the eggs and it turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is a WONDERFUL cake. Very easy, very moist, very flavorful. I accidentally purchased lemon flavored cake mix rather than yellow but it was great. No reason for me to even try it with yellow now. I took it to work and it was a great hit. As soon as you uncover the pan you can smell the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This cake was YUMMY! I made some minor changes to the recipe: I had lemon cake mix on hand, so i used that with vanilla pudding mix (instead of the reverse); i used egg beaters instead of eggs; i added 2 tablespoons of water to the glaze, to stretch it out a bit. Anyway, it came out delicious! My friends all LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This was quick and easy. I love a cake that I can "frost" without having to wait for it to cool. I brought it to work and it disappeared within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This is a great recipe!!! I made it with Lemon cake mix and Vanilla pudding. Everyone loved it. It disappeared very quickly. I love lemon and am going to try it with Lemon pudding next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyannis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I only had a lemon cake mix, but it said it had pudding in the mix, so I followed the recipe as if it were already combined. It turned out light and fluffy. For the glaze, because so many said it was on the very sweet side, I squeezed enough for 1/2 cup of lemon juice, and added 2 tsp of stick butter for a smoothness. The family has given this an "awesome" rating, and insisted on it all summer long as the "perfect light desert. We had it the third night with crushed raspberries and a dollop of whipped cream for company, and the cake was still just perfect. Rave reviews from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States