Lemon Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This cake is so tangy and delicious!! A big success with family and friends. I used 3 eggs instead of 4 and also used lemon juice instead of water in the cake. I also added some lemon zest to the glaze. My cake was not soggy as some reviews indicated. I will make this again and again (a great way to use the lemons from my backyard.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Sooo Lemony and sooo delicious! I used the lemon cake and lemon pudding mix. I also doubled the amount of glaze to go on top, and basically bathed it in glaze, letting it soak up into every inch of the cake! It turned out amazingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I myself thought the cake was good-nothing exceptional though. No one ate one piece of it at a picnic-I believe because it looks terrible on top. I tried to cover it up with 10X but the glaze soaks it up. To put anything else on top would just take away from the simplicity of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a quick easy, light cake. We liked the glaze, kinda like a glazed donut. This does taste like a mix, which it is. I used lemon cake mix. Yes, I would make it again. I might dust the top with some powdered sugar next time once the glaze and cake are completely cooled. Also would like to put some fresh lemon juice into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Perfectly easy, fresh, lemony cake. I topped it with a lemony whipped cream topping (4 oz cream cheese, 1 c. powdered sugar, 1 c. cool whip, the juice of one lemon and 1 tsp lemon zest). We love lemon so I only use fresh squeezed lemon juice which I think makes a difference and I add a bit of lemon juice to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
A good lemon cake; nice on a summer day. Followed recipe exactly. I might try again with lemon frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
LUSCIOUS!!! I did one thing a bit differentthis time. I used 1/2 the amount of lemon with fresh lemon.(didn't have enough of just juice) I have made this several times the original way and just loved the taste using fresh lemon!I think next time I will use all fresh lemon. It was so fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
My family loves this cake. My recipe is just slightly different. Instead of lemon pudding mix, mine calls for dry lemon jello powder to be added to the batter. #2 son always asks for this cake for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
My favorite cake ever! I grew up on it, requesting it from my grandmother every year for my birthday. Now my mom makes it for me for my birthday, and I make it the rest of the year! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great recipe! Super easy & melts in your mouth moist. Couldn't keep the kids out of it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States