Lemon Poke Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I enjoyed this cake. I liked the tartness of the glaze. My son thought it was too tart. I ran into one problem, but that was my own fault. I bought the cake with the pudding already in it. I didn't want it to taste like yellow cake only, so I add the box of lemon pudding, and then I add some lemon juice to loosen the batter up, because it got sticky. I've made cakes before, so I was able to tell consistency. I baked my in a loaf pan, and it came out great. It looked good on the inside and out. It was light, and lemony. I had a thin glaze over the top to soak into the holes, then I used more confectioners sugar to add a white drizzle look, that covered the holes. I used a tooth pick to prick holes into the cake, that way they were not craters. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Yummy Cake. The glaze makes it taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I just got done trying my first piece and it is delicious!! I had lemon cake mix and vanilla pudding, and it came out great! I'll definitely be making this again....now, for my second piece :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tarawa Terrace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Super easy and quick to make but so good. Took this to work and folks were fighting over it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'Kelly Byrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I made this cake for a big gathering this weekend. Maybe the recipe is missing something, I covered it with whipped cream as the appearance of all the holes poked into the cake didn't look very nice. It wasn't a big hit altho I LOVE lemon almost anything. Not sure if I'll make it again as there better lemon recipes. It was easy enough tho so maybe for a quick fix I might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I made this for a 4th of July party, and it was gone in about 15 minutes. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the definition of decadent! This cake is de-li-ci-o-so!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I didn't like this at all, and I love lemon anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This makes a nice, light-tasting, lemony cake that is less sweet than many cakes. I think the amount of glaze could probably be cut in half -- it made far more glaze than was necessary. Frosting lovers (like my family) might prefer this cake with a lemon frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States