Lemon Poke Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This cake turned out very good. I couldn't find an 18.5 oz cake mix all I could find was a 15 oz so I only used 3 eggs and reduced the water and oil a little. It still came out good. I had a lot of glaze left over. I didn't want it to be overly sweet so I just drizzled a little over the top. This is a great way to jazz up a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I've lost count of how many times I've made this. Any time I need a good dessert, I go back to this one. I've made it for church socials, holiday meals, and just for fun. So many people have asked me for the recipe. I usually make it in a bundt pan and increase the cooking time to 40-45 minutes. Glazing it in the bundt pan is a bit more of a pain, but I use skewers to poke lots of long holes and a turkey baster to slowly keep pouring the glaze over it. A lot of the glaze will slide off the cake onto the plate, so I just suck it up with the baster and keep glazing. I think it makes the cake look nicer. But any way you prepare it, the recipe is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is my favorite cake, hands down! It is very moist and delicious! I will make this over and over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoovey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this with butter cake just like the box said W/ (real Butter). Took it to our neighborhood Bingo everyone wanted the recipe. I saved a little of the icing and make it thicker to drizzle over the top after it cooled it looked wonderful and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Too sweet for me, but the others loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This cake was good but way, way, way to sweet (and I like sweet). Could not taste the lemon and I substituted lemon juice for the water in my glaze. I also only had a white cake so made it with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is also good with 1 Tbs. of poppy seeds added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I added a glaze, made with 3 cups confectioner's sugar, 2 tbsp lemon juice, 1 tsp milk, 2 tbsp butter and 1 cup coconut - this added a bit of texture to the cake. It also covers up the holes! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This cake was good i just wanted a little more lemon but overall it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This cake is sooo moist and good. It didn't last long in this house and everybody's looking forward to the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States