Lemon Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a fairly standard and very reliable recipe for classic lemon bars. Any criticism of either too much crust, not enough filling, too sweet or tart, or not sweet or tart enough is purely subjective, and can easily be tweaked to suit individual tastes and preferences. Having made lemon bars many times in the past, and knowing that I like a thicker filling than the standard 4-egg filling for a 9x13" pan, I chose to use 1-1/2 times the filling for the same amount of crust, keeping all other measurements the same. I liked the addition of the lemon zest in this recipe, and found these to have the perfect balance of juice and zest for a just right sweetness and tartness. If possible, use either a non-melting powdered sugar, or sprinkle the powdered sugar right before serving, as it tends to melt into the bars quickly. I had a taste for something lemon today, and since these are so quick and easy to make they quickly satisfied the craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
847 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
This is an great, simple recipe that I make with my 3 year old. If you halve the lemons and then nuke them for 10 seconds or so you can get a lot more juice. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie P
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I thought these lemon bars were delicious! I followed the recipe as it was printed, although I decreased the temperature to 340 and kept a close eye on things, because my oven bakes a bit faster than it should. There was just the right amount of crust and just the right amount of lemony topping. Although some reviews stated they didn't look very nice, I disagree! They looked fine when they came out, and after they cooled the top was certainly firm enough to withstand a sprinkling of powdered sugar. I'm definitely going to make these again, and i'm also going to try them with a mixture of lemon and lime juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I'm not sure why everyone keeps cutting the crust recipe in half. It's just fine as long as you DOUBLE the filling. I didn't have enough lemon juice, so I used half a cup of lemon juice and half a cup of lime juice. They were fabulous. Make sure you whisk the filling until a creamy froth developes. When it bakes it will create a thin wafer of an almost merangue consistancy. Also DO NOT bake the crust longer than 15 minutes. It will be pale and not browned at all on top, but will be completely done, and a lovely golden on the bottom after the filling has been added and it's been in the oven for another 20 to 25 min. (max.)If the edges start to brown...take it out immediately. It is definately done. Be sure to watch it if you leave it in longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Definitely a good lemon bar, but not lemony enough. I have made this many times now and I add the zest of a full lemon to make them really tangy. If you add more lemon juice they can get too runny. But, you really do need to cook this longer than 20 mins (at least 25-28). I personally love the thick shortbread crust. Sprinkle with powdered sugar just before serving or it just soaks into the bar (powdered sugar makes them look much more appetizing and pretty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I followed the recipe exact, making no changes. I found that baking the crust for 15 minutes was exact as was baking the filling for 20 minutes. I had no problems with burning or overdone anything like I have with other lemon bars. I couldn't wait to cut into this, so I let it cool for about 20 minutes before I dusted it with confectioners sugar and another 10 minutes after that before I couldn't wait anymore. The crust is almost shortbread like and the filling is better than others I've tried. I think it's good as is, but for someone who likes more filling and a little more sour filling, I might double the filling next time and at least double the zest. The reviewer before me is right in describing the filling as close to a lemon meringue. NOTE: The filling looks to be thin and you'll worry that it won't set up. It will. It's supposed to look like that. EDITED: Once it cools, the filling's tartness comes out a bit more and it's quite creamy. I think some of the other reviewers are right in making a batch and a half of the filling. I think it might be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!!! I used 2 lemons for the juice and zest!! Drizzled with a thin frosting made with powdered sugar and lemon juice for a little extra zing and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saukville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The first time I made these I followed the recipe exactly and thought that there was too much crust. So I made them again and cut the flour back to 1 1/2 cups (mixed with the powdered sugar) and 3 Tblsps added to the egg/lemon juice mix. I used cold butter and cut it in to the flour with a pastry blender. I left all of the other ingredient amounts the same and thought this was a perfect ratio of crust to filling. I enjoy the taste of these bars best when they are chilled... An absolutely scrumptious "the best" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I made these based on the picture shown....that must be two bars stacked on top of each other. I made it the original recipe way, but next time I will definitely DOUBLE the filling so it is more of a 2:1 RATIO instead of 1:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This was OK, but not great. Crust was a little too thick, it over powered the filling. Maybe it would be better if you used the same amount of crust and spread in a jelly roll pan, then made 1&1/2 times the lemon filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States