Lemon Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
this was good.actually I used another recipe for dough but I loved the lemon topping.It was so light and looked so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
After years of searching I have finally found "the Lemon Square" recipe I had been longing for. These were perfect. I took reviewers advice and doubled the filling and tweaked measurements a bit. Sooo good. Even my hubby who said he doesn't like lemons squares ate 4 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These were absolutely delicious and so very very easy. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I read the comments and made 1 1/2 times the filling and that was just right. I accidentally doubled the lemon juice, though, so they were quite tart, but not in a bad way. Everybody loved them. Even my 5 year old daughter. I also didn't have quite enough butter so I used about 50g of Coconut Oil in the base. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I did as others suggested and doubled the filling. A little sweet in my estimation could cut the sugar a little. Also, liked these better the next day! Really would rate a 3 1/2 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These were a big hit. Shared a few with the neighbor; she took one bite and said "Mmm, this crust is to die for!". Am certainly adding this to our dessert rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
The PROS: very easy to make, very zesty and tangy filling THe CONS: super thick (but tasty) crust overpowers the filling This was still a nice recipe and it went over well but next time I make this (and I will) I will double (or 1 1/2 times) the ingredients for the filling and maybe add a little baking powder or soda (forget which one works best with lemon) to "puff" up the filling even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was easy, quick and to the point. I ended up using reg sugar for the crust because that's what I had on hand(worked fine). 2 good sized lemons= 1/2 cup lemon juice. When I make these again, and I definitely will, I will add a few drops of yellow food coloring, as these were virtually colorless. This of course is really a non issue but for presentation sake this is what I will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Make sure to add a bit more lemon juice and zest for a bit more kick. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was a very good and easy recipe to make. I would only make one change to the recipe.(hence the 4 stars) I only bake with unsalted butter, so my crust was really needing something - a pinch of salt! It was just a little bland and a touch of salt would have made a huge difference. Next time I make this I will add 1/2 tsp of salt to the crust. Also, in the interest of ease and keeping it simple, I prepared this completely in my food processor. I processed the dry ingredients for the crust in the food processor, added the COLD butter (diced) and processed until it was incorporated. After putting the crust into the oven to bake, used the same food processor to mix up the filling. Simple and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Sounded really good and super easy, but the dough part was way too thick compared to the lemon topping, and it tasted like butter-logged flour (and I love butter) Literally,it was so greasy tasting I felt like I was eating a stick of butter...on another note, the topping was awesome, I used fresh squeezed lemons and that part was super good, and set nicely. I suggest trying to find a better bottom mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States