Lemon Pepper Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Broiled instead of frying in margarine and it was terrific! Use fairly thick fillets and broil about 6-8 inches from element. Remove when golden brown& check for flakiness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was sooo good, flakey and moist! Very simple. I can only imagine that the person who burned it had the temp up way too high as I had, if anything, too much margarine. I can give one note, I bought "pre marinated" lemon pepp. catfish from the local Raleys (always very fresh there). I also added just a pinch of salt to the flour mixture. I would DEFINITELY serve this to my in-laws..and that's sayin' something! Thanks Hallie! P.s...this was my fist catfish..2nd fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Okay, tasty catfish, but, heavens, I can't see the need for *4* eggs. One was plenty for the 2lbs of catfish nuggets I used. And had leftover breading as well. I would decrease the breading and probably up the cornmeal ratio also. Used a mixture of butter and oil for frying. Fried up nice and quick and browned easily. Good fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This is very easy and it's a wonderful way to prepare catfish. I suggest adding salt to the cornmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This fish had a great coating. I used butter to fry and it turned out great. I would probably add more Lemon Pepper tho if that is the flavor you are looking for. 1 TBS does not give it much lemon pepper taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
a fat siamese cat was sitting in the kitchen while i used half butter and veggie oil. i was mixing the mixture while the cast iron pan heated up, when thunder struck very close by. i'm pouring lemon pepper in the plastic bag to shake my catfish strips up and the cat fleabag attacks. i think only about 3 tablespoons of lemon pepper jumped into the bag. so,...4 stars... use more lemon pepper, use cast iron, use butter/veggie oil blend and rent a storm-scared siamese cat to help you judge the extra amount of lemon pepper needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
i liked this recipe. it came out very flaky which i liked. i added salt also and more lemon pepper. my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mercedes0602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
I followed the directions, and somehow the fish still ended up burning on the sides as I flipped it. I think the recipe called for too much margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Good---made a few days ago with SCI hushpuppies. I used oil instead of margarine to fry, and I used less flour and more cornmeal + some Italian style bread crumbs. Very close to my fried catfish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Very tasty. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States