Lemon Pepper Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
i have cook this for yrs now i just dont use flour, i wet my fish roll in cornmeal and i deep fry it i taste the lemon pepper as i add to corn meal to get the taste i want when fish turn golden brown or floats up is done my family loves this we dont care for the thick coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by estrellalite
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by estrellalite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My family loved this recipe. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My husband liked this recipe, but I thought it was ok (probably because I like red fish more than I do white fish). I had a problem with the breading falling off the fish as it was cooking. I had huge catfish filets and added about 1/2 tsp salt to the cornmeal/flour mixture. I used the same amount of cornmeal and flour the recipe called for and this was more than enough for my large filets. Next time I will use more lemon pepper seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I had never even eaten catfish before, much less prepared it for my family but since (a) I've always heard it was delicious (so I've been long-term curious), (b) catfish nuggets were (short-term) available at a ridiculously low price in my area, and (c) I had recently purchased ground lemon pepper spice, I thought I'd give this recipe a try. And it was good. Probably VERY good (even EXCELLENT) if you are a "catfish person" (which is why I gave it 5 stars). But my family wasn't particularly impressed. For us, it was the catfish (not one of the 5 of us liked it). But the recipe is good and, therefore, not to be faulted. So while I probably will not be making catfish again any time soon (if ever), I will, in likelihood, be using the recommended coating, seasoning and cooking method the next time I prepare flounder or sole filets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This is the only way make my catfish now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnklein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Persia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This fish had a great coating. I used butter to fry and it turned out great. I would probably add more Lemon Pepper tho if that is the flavor you are looking for. 1 TBS does not give it much lemon pepper taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Okay, tasty catfish, but, heavens, I can't see the need for *4* eggs. One was plenty for the 2lbs of catfish nuggets I used. And had leftover breading as well. I would decrease the breading and probably up the cornmeal ratio also. Used a mixture of butter and oil for frying. Fried up nice and quick and browned easily. Good fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
The only changes I made were to use butter instead of margarine, and I added a little Cavender's seasoning salt to the cornmeal mix. Quick, easy and pretty tasty. Thanks, Hallie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Good---made a few days ago with SCI hushpuppies. I used oil instead of margarine to fry, and I used less flour and more cornmeal + some Italian style bread crumbs. Very close to my fried catfish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States