Lemon Pecan Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have never made a pound cake that was so crumbly - Tasted good but I would never make it again - I will continue my search for a moist pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This cake has good texture and flavor, but is on the dry side. I barely baked it long enough to be done, so it wasn't the baking time. I think this would be better if there was some sour cream or pudding in it for extra moisture. The glaze helps, but not enough. Pound cake implies a pound of butter, and this only calls for 1/2 pound - maybe the recipe was adapted and that's why it's a little off and why the pan size seems to be off as well? I'll try again with tweaking. Good starter recipe, the pecans add a good flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This cake is excellent, very moist. I used 1-1/2 Tbl. fresh lemon zest in the recipe and it was nice and lemon-y. I also added more roasted pecans than the recipe called for (about 1 cup). The glaze "made" the cake and it presents very nicely. NOTE: Making one recipe did not yield as much batter as I expected so I tripled the recipe and made two cakes (1-1/2 recipes per bundt pan). For my bundt pans, this yielded the perfect amount of batter. This recipe will definitely be my "go to" cake when I need something citrus-y and bright!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Amazing cake. I served it at a party and everyone seemed to enjoy it. It has a strong lemon taste and it's very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Icing was way too lemony tasting, will add less lemon juice if I make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Good but super sweet with the topping.Yummy and definately lemony. I did not use the pecans as i did not have any on hand.Still it was good. Just give it time to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Thanks a million Carol for this recipe. It's a really tasty and delicious one, I've just swapped the pecans by the Macadamia, and it came out really good. thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I did something wrong with this recipe. The crust came out hard and the inside very wet, so I cut it into slices, put in the oven at 400 degrees and made the most delicious cookies with it. I still have no idea what I did wrong because I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was a really good lemon pound cake. It was really lemoney and My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Like others, I eliminated the pecans and baked in a loaf pan. If you bake in a loaf pan, bump up the temp to 350 and cook for an hour. I wanted a more lemony flavor, so I added a teaspoon of lemon extract, and I also added some cornstarch to the flour to make it cake flour. This is definitely a drier pound cake ... about the texture of a scone. But that's perfect for serving with strawberries and whipped cream, or some other fruit that's been macerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States