Lemon Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I love this one. I do not add the lime zest and I always use extra lemon juice (I juice a whole lemon which is 1/3 of a cup). I think this recipie is the best. I add chicken to it or sliced sauteed mushrooms, it's a restaurant quality recipie and is very easy to make. It does not reheat for leftovers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This was a FANTASTIC idea! Granted, I modified a bit. I used half-n-half, and added artichokes, asparagus, fresh tomatoes, and mushrooms to the sauce. But I love the idea of a lemon-cream base. Thank you Holly, my guests were so pleased, and so was I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This recipe was fabulous! I do not think that the zest is neccesary though. I used 4 tablespoons of lemon juice and 2 tablespoons of lime juice instead of the lemon and lime zest. I also added chicken and broccoli and used chicken broth instead of beef broth. Overall, this was a great recipe and I will definately use it again! I would not suggest this recipe to people who do not like tart food, but for those who do, this is one you must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Absolutely wonderful!We had it over fettuccine, asparagus and lemon pepper chicken and it was devine. I used chicken broth instead of beef. Please note that reducing sauce takes time.To achieve a thicker sauce Have Patience! It will definately be worth it.I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Very nice basic sauce with a twist (of citrus). Would be a perfect side to go with any seafood or poultry entree, or a great main course by tossing seafood/poultry right in. I used chicken broth, and made a main dish out of it by adding a little garlic, toasted pine nuts and steamed broccoli florets, and am eager to try it again with asparagus. The possibilities are endless. We sprinkled on parmesan at the table. Passed the picky kid test, too. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I didn't have Heavy cream so I used 2% milk and then added just a touch of Corn starch as a thickening agent. Worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhillyard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great sauce, Holly. I used fat-free "half & half" (will use cream next time as there was an odd coagulation going on with the fat-free 1/2 & 1/2) and also added 1 tsp. black pepper. Based on other reviews, I added about 2 cloves minced garlic with the butter. It was a little bit salty & the appearance was somewhat similar to gravy so I think that I'll omit the broth next time and gently simmer the sauce, covered, so that it doesn't reduce (unsalted butter would help w/the saltiness, as well). I topped each serving with some grated pecorino romano and toasted hazel nuts. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
I thought this was awesome. I added lot's of garlic and about 1 lb. of shrimp. It's so versatile, just about anything would work! The lemon and lime zest really make it light and refreshing seeing there's so much butter and cream...oh well, guess my diet starts tommorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasingu2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great flavour! I let this reduce by half and it was still quite thin to use as a pasta sauce but it was delicious on broccoli, potatoes and a lemon-parmesan chicken! Thicker would have been better, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I was anxious to try this after reading the reviews..and yes this was fairly quick to put together, but I wasn't too excited about the taste. I used chicken broth in lieu of the beef and added some sauteed red bell peppers, yellow squash and fresh spinach, which I cut into match-strips. I only used the lemon juice and a little bit of the rind..which gave it plenty of tartness. I sprinkled a hefty dose of parmesan cheese on each serving and paired this with a focaccia bread found on this site. Not sure if I'll attempt this one again, but it was a nice alternative to the tomato based sauces that are so common at my place. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States