Lemon Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I melted the 4T butter then added 1/4 C flour and made a roux to which I added 1 C skim milk. Once it had thickened I added 1 C Chicken broth, 3 T Lemon Juice and about 1 t lemon zest. I let it cook down for about 30 min. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great flavour! I let this reduce by half and it was still quite thin to use as a pasta sauce but it was delicious on broccoli, potatoes and a lemon-parmesan chicken! Thicker would have been better, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
DE-LISH! Although I used chicken broth instead and added some cooked chicken cubes to it. My family also likes a "little kick" to our dinner so i added some red pepper flakes to it the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes before adding the chicken and tossing the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
YUMMY! I was in love with it. I made the mistake of adding a bit of flour to cream to thicken it up, but I regretted doing it. Next time I make this Ill be following the directions EXACTLY. NOTHING needs to be changed. I made this recipe with angel hair pasta with grilled chicken and topped of with bacon crumbles and it was delicious! So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I used 3 tbsp. butter and 1 tbsp. EVOO, fat-free half-n-half, omitted the lime zest (I didn't have any), and used low-sodium organic chicken broth. For the noodles, I used half the amount of noodles and used Hungry Girl's shirataki noodles (tofu noodles) and sauteed garlic, onion, zucchini and red pepper in the butter/EVOO in place of the other half of pasta I didn't use before adding the remaining ingredients. I also added 1/2 c. fresh parmesan right before serving. My kids and I thought this was fabulous but my husband didn't care for the noodles. If you aren't watching your calorie/carb intake, using a good whole wheat pasta would be excellent in this. He remarked on that the sauce was really good, just didn't care for the noodles. At the last minute, I folded my broccoli into my portion of pasta/sauce/noodles and was glad I did. Gosh, it was SO good. NOTE: If you use the shirataki noodles, make sure to rinse them really well before using them in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Super yummy and perfect with the Broiled Tilapia Parmesan recipe! The only thing I did different is I left out the heavy whipping cream and used Evaporated Milk to make it a little healthier. I did have to add some cornstarch to make the sauce thicker (make sure to mix the cornstarch with cold water) I also left out the lime zest. I topped with capers. It was so yummy and we will definantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I did not like this sauce at all. There was WAY too much butter in it. It never thickened and got creamy, just greasy and runny. I tried to reduce the sauce enough to at least make it a little thicker and it made it worse; it was pretty much 1/2 butter 1/2 cream/broth with a lemony flavor. Bleh. I followed the instructions exactly except I used lemon zest instead of lime, but that wouldn't change the consistency, just the flavor. I fear for trying it again but who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was not edible. I have no idea what could have gone wrong here...It tasted like plain cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yummy. I used Light Cream w/ a little whole milk and Smart Balance and it was still very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
It was fabulous! I used greek yogurt instead of heavy cream, it worked like a charm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Titania

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States