Lemon-Parsley Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These are awesome! I used in season fresh beans from my local farmers market. I make my asparagus similar to this recipe, except I never thought to add the fresh parsley and lemon zest. I will be using this from now on for the beans AND asparagus! thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
these were pretty sour. i'd use less lemon next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were delicious! I added in only half a teaspoon of butter with the evoo. Aside from that I followed the recipe as is, except at the end I squeezed some lemon juice on rather than garnishing with them. Typically these would be eaten as a side dish but I ate these on top of baby spinach and grape tomatoes as a salad, no need for dressing. The rest of my family enjoyed these as well, will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
You can use half the butter and olive oil AND you can re-use pan you boiled beans in (for less clean up) by pouring in ice water directly into pot with (drained)beans and then removing beans to your serving plate and then returning beans and finishing saute'ing still in same pot. After s & p (a lot) these were very nice accompaniment to baked ham and scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is a very close version of Galloping Gourmet's recipe before he went diet mode. Parsley adds just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelizz10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stella, North Carolina, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Fresh, spring-like way of preparing green beans. The cooking method and ice-water bath stop the cooking process and preserves the beans' vivid green color. I'm not able to say if the measurements are "spot on" or not as I didn't measure, just sprinkled away to my liking, skipping the zest entirely as I was happy with just the juice. These are simple, tasty, perfectly cooked green beans I imagine would appeal to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These flavors are awesome with green beans making it a light and springy side. I was disappointed in my dish because I used oldish frozen beans that were past their prime. Not the recipes fault, obviously. When the recipe says the garlic should be dark brown, be careful. Burned garlic is awful and will wreck the dish. It can go from nice toasty to burned in a blink. I served it with a spicy meatloaf and it was a nice fresh counterbalance to the dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
These beans were excellent....and fresh beans is a must. Loved the flavors of the garlic and lemon zest.....I had to use dried parsley since I had no fresh on hand. Great side for our meatloaf last night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Easy recipe and my husband loved them. I used frozen instead of fresh and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Great recipe, very easy and even my picky wife and kids liked it. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States