Lemon PHILLY Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Tried this recipe but made my cakes from scratch rather than a packet, the frosting actually needs icing sugar added to it to give it the thickness needed to pipe into the cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I just made these for Easter. Topped the frosting with some toasted coconut and a few jelly beans to look like a nest. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made these this morning and wow! They are delicious! I made a few adjustments...I used original cream cheese, I'm not a fan of light. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and a tablespoon of lemon juice to the cupcake batter and an extra teaspoon of vegetable oil. The cake was amazing! To the frosting I added another 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to thicken it a bit which is necessary if you want the frosting to stay on the cupcakes. I also piped the frosting on instead of spread it. There is extra frosting but I used it as dip for fresh strawberries I had on hand. Delicious cupcakes! Strongly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by britritz26
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
WOW! DELICOUS!!! Very moist! I topped the cupcakes with the zest from the lemons and they were absolutely beautiful....straight out of Martha Stuart. I made them for Easter...they were a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britritz26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Fantastic! The cupcakes and the frosting are just bursting with lemon flavor. I will certainly be making these again. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. Unlike others, I did not have any frosting left over at all, but that's probably because I piped rather than spread it on. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Great cupcakes!!!!! Frosting is a little runny but great flavor, just add some extra sugar to firm it up. Also top with toasted coconut and they are even more amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIE
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Made these a couple of days ago. I followed the directions and ingredients as stated in the recipe. The cupcake had a great subtle lemon taste. The cupcake texture was like a cake texture. It was not light and fluffy. But it still was good. The frosting was delicious, but for decorating the cupcakes, I would have liked it to be a little thicker/stiffer. All in all, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
You will likely have icing left over. Keep it in the fridge and spread on graham crackers after the cupcakes are all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
i followed the recipe exactly, and i think they were only okay. they were very easy to make, but the frosting wasn't as sweet and stiff as i have had other better cream cheese frostings. the cake part also came out very dense. they tasted pretty good, but only the day they were made. i don't think they keep too well so eat them quickly! pretty much it was an easy and fairly okay tasting recipe to make with a 7 year old to pass the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a very light and delicious cupcake that had a subtle lemon flavor. I doubled the recipe and don't recommend doing this, instead just make it twice or else you might burn out your mixer, it makes so much. I also doubled the frosting but don't think I needed to because the recipe makes so much. Like another review said the frosting was very soft and tended to melt if it got room temp so I had to put it back in the fridge midway through to firm it back up. Perhaps next time I will use a different cream cheese frosting recipe and add the lemon (or not). The egg whites made the recipe very light and fluffy and they were really delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States