Lemon PHILLY Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Tried this recipe but made my cakes from scratch rather than a packet, the frosting actually needs icing sugar added to it to give it the thickness needed to pipe into the cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I just made these for Easter. Topped the frosting with some toasted coconut and a few jelly beans to look like a nest. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made these this morning and wow! They are delicious! I made a few adjustments...I used original cream cheese, I'm not a fan of light. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and a tablespoon of lemon juice to the cupcake batter and an extra teaspoon of vegetable oil. The cake was amazing! To the frosting I added another 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to thicken it a bit which is necessary if you want the frosting to stay on the cupcakes. I also piped the frosting on instead of spread it. There is extra frosting but I used it as dip for fresh strawberries I had on hand. Delicious cupcakes! Strongly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by britritz26
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
WOW! DELICOUS!!! Very moist! I topped the cupcakes with the zest from the lemons and they were absolutely beautiful....straight out of Martha Stuart. I made them for Easter...they were a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britritz26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Fantastic! The cupcakes and the frosting are just bursting with lemon flavor. I will certainly be making these again. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. Unlike others, I did not have any frosting left over at all, but that's probably because I piped rather than spread it on. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Great cupcakes!!!!! Frosting is a little runny but great flavor, just add some extra sugar to firm it up. Also top with toasted coconut and they are even more amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIE
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Made these a couple of days ago. I followed the directions and ingredients as stated in the recipe. The cupcake had a great subtle lemon taste. The cupcake texture was like a cake texture. It was not light and fluffy. But it still was good. The frosting was delicious, but for decorating the cupcakes, I would have liked it to be a little thicker/stiffer. All in all, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
You will likely have icing left over. Keep it in the fridge and spread on graham crackers after the cupcakes are all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
i followed the recipe exactly, and i think they were only okay. they were very easy to make, but the frosting wasn't as sweet and stiff as i have had other better cream cheese frostings. the cake part also came out very dense. they tasted pretty good, but only the day they were made. i don't think they keep too well so eat them quickly! pretty much it was an easy and fairly okay tasting recipe to make with a 7 year old to pass the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a very light and delicious cupcake that had a subtle lemon flavor. I doubled the recipe and don't recommend doing this, instead just make it twice or else you might burn out your mixer, it makes so much. I also doubled the frosting but don't think I needed to because the recipe makes so much. Like another review said the frosting was very soft and tended to melt if it got room temp so I had to put it back in the fridge midway through to firm it back up. Perhaps next time I will use a different cream cheese frosting recipe and add the lemon (or not). The egg whites made the recipe very light and fluffy and they were really delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States