Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this for a holiday dinner for friends and they loved it! It looks pretty and the lemon really complimented the salmon dish I served with it. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
YUM! This turned out way better than I expected and received full compliments from hubby. It tastes just as good using lime as it does lemon. I didnt have any veg broth (island life!) and thus made my own; I used some stock and a little asparagus condensed soup as the base, and then added a tin of "salad vegetables" (baby carrots, beans and peas etc) all mashed up. Turned out a treat. Will make again. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Made this Sunday for my sister's birthday - everyone loved it, even my 2 1/2 year old great niece! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
It was delicious. I added extra sauted garlic and about half a sauted onion. If cooked with the lid on, the one can of vegetable broth was plenty. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIGHTCOMINGON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was a delicious recipe. I used chicken broth for the liquid and 1 tbsp fresh chopped thyme, as well as ground pepper. As others suggested, I added chopped carrot and zucchini to the orzo with about 8 minutes left in the cooking time. I found the 14 ounces of liquid was enough, as the chopped veggies created enough extra liquid for the pasta to cook and the veggies were tender, not at all soggy. I left the top on the pot - which helped retain adequate liquid to cook the orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is just wonderful. I chopped the vegetables instead of grating, and I used a little less thyme (i don't care much for it) and I added it with the vegetables. I didn't have any problems with the amount of liquid or the cooking time, but when I make this again I won't add the orzo before the broth. That made it stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This meal makes a wonderful light lunch or side dish! We were really impressed. To accompany the lemon zest I added two tablespoons of juice from the same lemon, and the flavours blended really well. Slightly tangy, but delicious. Next time I will increase the amount of carrot and zucchini, and possibly make the additions of eggplant and onion to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is an excellent dish for the family! My 1 year old and 4 1/2 year old love it! Great way to sneek in the veggies! Also, nice alternative to plain rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I thought this recipe was excellent. It had a little sweetness to it, was great served with baked salmon and fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was very tasty. I took several suggestions from various reviewers and it turned out delicious. I diced the vegetables fine instead of shredding, used chicken broth for a dash more flavor and added 2T of fresh lemon juice. I kept the lid on while cooking and periodically checked it until the liquid had been absorbed. The addition of parmesan as the final step is delicious. Remember that this is a light tasting side dish and is supposed to compliment the main entry. It's not supposed to be assertive and some may feel it's rather bland. Not at all, if you appreciate its simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States