Lemon Orzo Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I played with the proportions in this a lot. I used 1.5 cups of orzo (after I'd added the grated zucchini/carrot, I noticed that there was way more veggie than pasta, it seemed off, so I quickly toasted up another half cup of orzo), increased the broth to 20 ounces, increased the garlic to four large cloves, increased the Parmesan to about 1/2 cup and (as suggested by other reviewers) added juice from half the lemon and a teaspoon of fresh ground sea salt at the end. It turned out really well (though I felt like too much of the lemon zest flavor came through). I'm giving this four stars because I feel like if I hadn't made the alterations that I had, it would've been a little bland and unbalanced. I will definitely make this again-with the same proportions I used this time, but with about half the amout of zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The flavors were subtle, but I paired this with Chicken Marsala and loved it! A delicious and creamy compliment to the chicken, and my S.O.-- who wasn't at all excited about the zucchini-- had to have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
YUMMY!!!! Followed to a T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I changed things a little so maybe if I followed the exact directions thingswould have been different. Here's the way I did this. I boiled the orzo until it was almost done, drained then set aside. Then I started cooking the veg. in the oil and lemon. Just as the veg was getting tender, I added the orzo and some chicken stock and continued to cook until the orzo was ready. I added small amounts of stock as I went to get the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I thought this was a good recipe. Light, and a beautiful side dish. I would only add a dash of kosher salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great side dish. I used only zucchini, diced and cooked that for two minutes before continuing with the past. I had fresh oregano on hand instead of thyme--awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosesgrenadine
Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was really good! My husband really loved it too. Next time I am going to add more zucchini to it though :) The lemon flavor really comes through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I love a great risotto, but this didn't really do it for me. I felt like it just tasted like a weird, lemony chicken broth. It kind of reminded me of wild rice - don't really know why. I think it had something to do with using vegetable broth as the base instead of chicken broth and wine. Also, I usually make risotto using arborio rice (because it's cheaper), but this time I went for the orzo pasta. Maybe I'm just not an orzo fan. All in all, I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was colorful, I'll give it that - and certainly nutritious too, given the addition of the carrots and zucchini. As for flavor, however, if it wasn't for the lemon flavor there wouldn't be much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
The only substitution I made to this recipe was to use chicken broth instead of vegetable. I cut my carrots and zucchini into matchsticks instead of shredding them. The end result was very attractive and colorful. The lemon flavor wasn't intense enough for me, so I sqeezed some juice over at the end, and I think next time I would leave off the parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States